Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2016, 07:57 AM
Rawer Rawer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris,France
Posts: 90
Default Avid Cloud Question

Is it possible to just use this feature as a back up for our sessions?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2016, 08:00 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,601
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

I suppose you could do it, but why? It's VERY expensive cloud storage, you're better off with all other services.

The Avid cloud's only real value is its direct integration within PT.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2016, 08:07 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,921
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

It also seems to destabilize Pro Tools, you are likely better off uninstalling the Pro Tools Cloud software. All seems to be an utter waste of effort by Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2016, 07:37 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,461
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
It also seems to destabilize Pro Tools, you are likely better off uninstalling the Pro Tools Cloud software. All seems to be an utter waste of effort by Avid.
I uninstall it as well.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2016, 10:15 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 907
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

How do you uninstall the cloud software? I'm on Win7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
It also seems to destabilize Pro Tools, you are likely better off uninstalling the Pro Tools Cloud software. All seems to be an utter waste of effort by Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:12 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,921
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

It shows up in Windows installer, just uninstall it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2016, 01:22 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 652
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

Control Panel, Programs and Features, uninstall Cloud Client Service.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 512.15 - 2 x Internal Samsung 860 EVO SSDs, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve Studio 18.0b2 - Blackmagic Speed Editor - MK1 Presonus Faderport - Canon HF G40 - Atomos Ninja 2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2016, 02:07 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 907
Default Re: Avid Cloud Question

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzoboy View Post
Control Panel, Programs and Features, uninstall Cloud Client Service.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Only one Cloud account per Avid account metalmixer Pro Tools 2018 46 01-26-2019 01:31 PM
My Avid Cloud Question thanos4 Avid Cloud Collaboration 5 04-07-2016 11:54 AM
Avid Everywhere / PT Cloud Collaboration peter5992 General Discussion 1 03-16-2016 08:26 AM
Avid Everywhere and the Cloud Peter Cole General Discussion 0 10-18-2014 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com