Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-17-2014, 12:11 AM

Default Pro Tools Audio Playback Static/Pops Problem

Hello, I'm new to Pro Tools and Avid products and am experiencing difficulties. Please forgive any noobish questions. I bought an Avid Fast Track Solo interface with Pro Tools Express. (Side question: is Pro Tools Express the same as Pro Tools version 10?)

I bought an Avid Fast Track Solo for a home-recording sort of set up. Unfortunately, what I hear in the playback in Pro Tools Express isn't what I have recorded, but rather this popping/cracking/static sort of sound (absolutely none of the sound coming from the instrument). I have not been at all successful in recording, so far it has only made these sounds.

I know that it is not the fault of my instruments or microphone - for example, I can plug my bass guitar and some earphones into the Fast Track Solo and I can hear it playback clearly, but from Pro Tools the playback is only popping and cracking. This leads me to assume that rather than being fault in the equipment, there is a fault in either the computer software or the setup of Pro Tools.

In setting up Pro Tools I downloaded and installed the necessary files from:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...k-solo-drivers
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nload/en379411
Pro Tools otherwise runs fine.

One thing that did catch my eye in the General Troubleshooting thread was: