Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:02 AM
wheelzthatkillz wheelzthatkillz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Default Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

I am having trouble getting a decent drum sound through my mixer, here are the details of what i have:

- drum kit
- ashton dmp100 drum mic pack
- allen & heath zed 16 fx mixer
- mac os x version 10.7.5, core i5, 4gb memory
- pro tools version 10
- mbox 3

i have the 7 mics going through the mixer and the mixer is going from a mono out plug to the first input on the mbox 3. In pro tools the mixer comes up on one track.

I would like to have each of the 7 inputs on the mixer come up in pro tools on 7 different tracks if possible, therefore i can put effects on each track to achieve a better sound.
Overall just wondering if i can get a mixer to come up on seperate tracks instead of one combined track.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:33 AM
bonzerboy bonzerboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 573
Default Re: Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

You need 7 inputs. If you are going to use the mixer you need an interface that will allow the inputs you need and then you will go direct out form each channel of the mixer.
__________________
Wow am I groovy or what
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:48 PM
wheelzthatkillz wheelzthatkillz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

so all i need is an interface of some sort, recommend any good ones? and a price?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:55 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

I'm a big fan of metric halo gear. Their 2882 would be great for what you want to do. They're about $1800 new but I've seen them for $800-1000 used if you're patient.

However there are lots and lots of interfaces out there. What is your budget and what Mac are you using?
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:56 PM
wheelzthatkillz wheelzthatkillz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

I wouldn't spend more than $1000 on an interface and the mac i'm using is an iMac 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 4gb memory 1333 MHz DDR3. 21.5" monitor. Thats about all I know about it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2013, 12:35 PM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 611
Default Re: Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

Depending on you mixer you may be able to tAKE INDIVIDUAL channels out of the mixer. If your mixer utilizes TRS inserts you can take the send part of the TRS (usually the tip) and insert those into the inputs of you PT interface.

My choice would be to get a FF800 and another four channels of quality pres and get you seven inputs in that way.

B
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. 2 x 29.3 Ghz 6 core Intel Xeon PT 2019.10. Mac OS 10.12.6. and 10.14 RME UFX and a bunch of other nice stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2013, 06:33 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Allen & Heath Mixer through Pro Tools

I'm happy with my Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, been getting great drum sounds. Only downside is that there is only pads on 2 channels. The pre's sound great, but I came from a Behringer mixer with a m-audio Delta 1010lt, so anything would sound better :P They run about $500, but give the expansion of Optical I/O and S/Pdif.

You wouldn't "really" need your mixer for that type of setup unless you need pads. If you want to use your mixer; to elaborate on this..

Quote:
Depending on you mixer you may be able to tAKE INDIVIDUAL channels out of the mixer. If your mixer utilizes TRS inserts you can take the send part of the TRS (usually the tip) and insert those into the inputs of you PT interface.
You will need to know if your mixer uses TIP to send, or RING(found in the manual) on the INSERTS. With my old setup, I used a Tip/Sleeve (TS) 8ch snake and needed to "1/2 jack" them to get the signal to my interface. What I mean by that, is that you only insert the 1/4" jack to the first detent. I'm not sure of your experience, so hopefully you understand what I am are saying.

Regardless, there is no way to get your Mbox to record 7 tracks individually. I would at least record the drums on two inputs on that interface. Either a "stereo" mix, or Kick (In 1), rest of drums (In 2)
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem: pro tools 10, allen&heath mixer Eldu macOS 0 01-26-2013 01:33 AM
Allen and Heath ZED 24 mrjames Pro Tools 10 3 05-03-2012 02:23 PM
Anyone use the Allen&Heath DP1000 automated mixer El CaCa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-21-2004 06:11 PM
allen and heath gs 3 mersisblue Tips & Tricks 6 09-01-2003 08:50 PM
Allen & Heath GS2 with 001 Keith Lowdon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-19-2002 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com