Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2010, 04:45 PM
Harveyt101 Harveyt101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4
Exclamation Static/white noise during playback

I've read all the threads I could find about this problem and have implemented many of the solutions that worked for them, but I continue to have the issue. I receive sporadic white noise/static noise during playback. I can often save the session, exit, and reopen PT and the session and it will be static free for sometimes an hour. But I can not count on this as sometimes it will only last a minute before the white noise returns.

I have disabled 1 of the Delta 44 PCI cards, and only have the OS, Sisoftware, QuickTime, and PT 8.0.3 M-Powered installed on the C drive.
I read and implemented the optimization settings for Windows I found on this thread: http://www.protoolsusers.org/index.p...&catid=3#13302

I appreciate any help you can provide me here.

The sandra is listed below:
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell OptiPlex GX280
Workgroup :
Host Name :
User :

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Speed : 2.8GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 16kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Computer
Mainboard : Dell 0U4100
BIOS : Dell A03 09/17/2004
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 2GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : Dell 82915G/GV/GL/P/PL/GL/910GE/GL Grantsdale Host Bridge/DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 2GB DIMM DDR2
Shared Memory : 8MB
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 267MHz (534MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-4300U DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-4300U DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family (8 SP 333MHz, 128MB DDR2, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST340014AS (40GB, SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 2MB Cache) : 37GB (C:)
WDC WD5000AADS-00S9B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (D:) (E:) (G:)
SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SM-352F (ATAPI, DVD+-R, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 37GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST340014AS (40GB, SATA150, 3.5", NCQ, 2MB Cache)
Hard Disk (D:) : 195GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AADS-00S9B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Hard Disk (E:) : 129GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AADS-00S9B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Hard Disk (G:) : 142GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5000AADS-00S9B0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SM-352F (ATAPI, DVD+-R, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Intel 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC LPC47M584-NC
Audio Device : VIA M Audio Delta-44
Audio Device : VIA M Audio Delta-44
Audio Codec : Gammagraphx 0000h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Dell 82801FB (ICH6) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 1 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 2 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 3 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 4 : Dell Optiplex GX280
USB Controller 5 : Dell Optiplex GX280
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Network Services

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:26 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 640
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

Just a thought.... I had a particular session I was trying to record and I'd get clicks and hisses galore.. Frustrated.. I like to bus all tracks to, what I call a Monitor Aux track, and then bus that to another Mixdown Audio track..that I'll record to for Bounces etc. Well, I decided to delete the Mixdown audio track and all it's playlists and then create a new Mixdown Track.. That did it for me.. no more clicks and hisses. Now why it worked, I haven't a clue, but maybe if you record in the same sort of manner, maybe there's a mixdown track for you to delete..... Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:30 AM
Harveyt101 Harveyt101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

I appreciate the reply. There are no mixdown files for me to delete. I get the white noise/static even if I create a new session and import an mp3. I have tried deleting my session and starting over, but the sporadic static occurs regardless of what track or tracks I create or import.

I'm really at a loss for the cause here. I've got the system down to nothing except the OS, Quicktime, Sisoftware, and ProTools M-Powered 8.0.3. I've brought up task manager and can see that the processor and memory are not being taxed heavily during playback.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:35 AM
RhysC RhysC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

I'm having exactly the same problem.
PT M-Powered 8.0.3 Windows XP SP3, 32 bit. M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R

Here's a soundclip of the kind of noise I'm getting (ignore the track, it's a jingle my friend had to write for uni- the main burst of noise is halfway through the track)

http://soundcloud.com/username/axels-jingle-bounce-1

If I restart Pro Tools, I might get one or two noise free playbacks, but then every subsequent playback will at a burst of noise. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:40 AM
RhysC RhysC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

Wait, that link don't work!
Try this one- http://soundcloud.com/rhyscatlin/axels-jingle-bounce-1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:08 AM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

I had terrible White Noise Problems on 8.0.3 when ever I tried to do a Punch In, but PT 8.0.4 corrected all of my White Noise Problems.
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell 5750 Precision Workstation
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
CPU:*Intel Core Processor i7-10750H (6 Core, 12MB Cache, 2.60 GHz to 5.00 GHz,
Memory:32GB, 2X16GB,DDR4 2933Mhz Non-ECC
OS M.2 512GB PCIe NVMe, Record Intel 1TB SSD, 2T SSD, 1TB SSD
PreSonus Studio 1824c
AVID Pro Tools 2021.7
JBL LSR4328P 8"
JBL LSR310S 10 inch Powered Studio Subwoofer*
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors
Alesis Elevate 3 Studio Monitors
M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:52 PM
Harveyt101 Harveyt101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

Your white noise on the clip you linked is the same as what I experience.
I've noticed several forum threads on this white noise problem. I could not find a common item to them. The resolution for the ones lucky enough to have resolved it were all different. I've been chasing this problem for 6 weeks now and have posted on another forum as well. I would hate to throw good money after bad on an upgrade to 8.0.4. I will check on it though. Protools is unusable to me in this condition.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:20 PM
justus1900 justus1900 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 758
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

8.0.4 is a FREE Upgrade from 8.0.3... Plus 8.0.4 is way more stable than 8.0.3... I would go to the AVID web site and download the FREE Upgrade. I felt the same way as you my Pro Tools was completly unusable for me with The White Noise problem and for a long time I realy felt like no one cared. http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=364971
__________________
Producer/Engineer/Musician
RIAA Platinum Sales Award: Lisa Stansfield "Affection"

Main:
Model: Dell 5750 Precision Workstation
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit
CPU:*Intel Core Processor i7-10750H (6 Core, 12MB Cache, 2.60 GHz to 5.00 GHz,
Memory:32GB, 2X16GB,DDR4 2933Mhz Non-ECC
OS M.2 512GB PCIe NVMe, Record Intel 1TB SSD, 2T SSD, 1TB SSD
PreSonus Studio 1824c
AVID Pro Tools 2021.7
JBL LSR4328P 8"
JBL LSR310S 10 inch Powered Studio Subwoofer*
Yamaha HS50M Studio Monitors
Alesis Elevate 3 Studio Monitors
M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2010, 12:54 AM
jimbag jimbag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 1.5 hours NW of Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

I know this sounds simple and maybe obnoxious, but consider just going to Win 7.
I had the same problems you describe, tried everything, and in the end, it seems (to me) that XP just doesn't support PT entirely.
With all the attempted tweaking over 18 months in my musical (not so) fun-zone, trying to deal with random (impossible to properly troubleshoot) distortion, I could have learned 100 guitar chords.
Try it if you can, get back to music, and pass on the word.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-03-2010, 04:38 AM
RhysC RhysC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: Static/white noise during playback

Yep, upgraded to 8.0.4 and everything's sweet. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
static white noise Rawer macOS 15 03-31-2013 01:16 PM
Audio Track Playback Static/White Noise Issue c1rcac1rca 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-30-2012 10:09 PM
Static noise (aka White noise ) During playback. =/ PoPimp3069 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-23-2010 04:06 PM
White Noise/Static during playback w/Mbox & PT 6.4 Josh Greenberg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-05-2004 05:48 PM
LE 6.2.3 Static Or White Noise During Playback!! Sicks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 05-15-2004 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com