Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2000, 11:55 PM
Dodged Forgotten Dodged Forgotten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: new orleans, LA USA
Posts: 12
Default What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

I know you all have plenty of opinions, so lay 'em on me. Of course if lightning strikes you're screwed, but what about the moderately large spikes? What can handle these spikes without having to buy 15 amps of balanced power?

What are the good brands and models for the dollar?

Any to stay away from?

Thank you all for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2000, 06:59 PM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

I've been using APC power Uninteruptible Power Supplies to run my PT systems for over 6 years, and have yet to experience any power-related problems. And because of where my editing room is, I often don't realize there's a storm raging until the lights flicker or go out. Their UPS's also filter all the line noise and provide a controlled voltage level to your gear.

Also, with UPS's large enough to power a whole PT rig, APC also offers a $25,000 insurance policy for gear damaged by a lightning hit, should their UPS not catch it. Their website may be worth a look (www.apc.com) — I'm a fan and HIGHLY recommend 'em (nope, I don't work for 'em)… not the cheapest, but then neither was your PT system, was it?!

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2000, 10:47 AM
TMS TMS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Los Angeles Ca.
Posts: 215
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

I agree with BD. APC has saved my ass on more than one occasion. It's nice to know that during a rolling brown out or complete outage, my rig will still be up and running long enough for me to save and shut down.

Cheers Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2000, 11:11 AM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

Another reason to stick with a name brand like APC is consumables. Several years after you buy a largish UPS, you're going to need replacement batteries, and APC is really on top of that sort of thing with a very informative website.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2000, 09:42 PM
Gary Stadler Gary Stadler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 255
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

My personal philosophy is go with the UPS of your choice...but if you put your power thru a "shielded ultra-isolation" transformer first, and ground it properly (like KILLER ground it), you have a very good chance of keeping your system intact even with a lightning strike. They ain't cheap, like a grand for a 1KW unit (Staco ISO12008 from Newark) or $1300 for a 5kw unit, but how much is dead gear worth? !! My whole studio and computer system is on one, followed by a UPS....never so much as a tiny burp in 7 years from a power problem....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2000, 11:48 PM
Dodged Forgotten Dodged Forgotten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: new orleans, LA USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

OK, maybe not THE BEST! I do like to hear your opinions on the best, but does anyone have any ideas for a cheaper product.


Thanks,


The Provoker
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2000, 09:00 PM
Dodged Forgotten Dodged Forgotten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: new orleans, LA USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: What\'s the best power conditioner for the buck???

bump
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a power conditioner Legion6789 Pro Tools 9 2 06-09-2011 11:21 PM
Which Power Conditioner is Quieter? solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-30-2008 02:23 PM
Power Conditioner choice? pfd4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-10-2003 12:02 AM
will a power conditioner help this? J. FO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-17-2002 07:04 AM
Preferred power conditioner Parnellian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-03-2002 09:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com