Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2001, 09:15 PM
Iamrod Iamrod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 39
Default AVID / PT sync - Help

Looked at past boards - still need to clairify.

Video into film composer
DA88 audio (stems) 29.97 loaded into AVID digitally with no pull down Sync is fine as normal.
Video output with pulldown syncs - a simo load to PT (fuse) settings at 29.97 as normal - burnin and PT session in sync.
Now here's the part I can't get :
I want to load the digital track (48K) from the AVID to the PT thru spdif. Using a video ref with PT session 29.97 the audio always ends up longer in a 20min load by about 2 sec. Should the session be 30 to load then pull up then import movie ? Session and video are in dead sync, audio is long.
What silly thing am I doing wrong?
Please advise - thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2001, 10:18 PM
Iamrod Iamrod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 39
Default Re: AVID / PT sync - Help

Next step - I transferred audio into 30 fr PT session from the AVID no pull down from avid - changed PT session to 29.97 with pulldown tail pop in right place - Imported movie lined it up , if I scrub on the tail pop everything is in sync - if I play the reel thru the pop, it's out of sync (late by a second) What am I doing wrong ?
thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2001, 10:38 PM
Iamrod Iamrod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 39
Default Re: AVID / PT sync - Help

Using 5.1 LE for capture - just got rid of 4.2 is this one of those you can't conform the video in 5.1 issues ? I hate to buy a full version of Premiere just to capture - when I own an AVID. what now ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2001, 01:33 PM
mfife mfife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 119
Default Re: AVID / PT sync - Help

You recorded audio in digitally and it is long by .1% in a pull-down session. This audio is not intended to be pulled down.

Your DA-WaityWait is 29.97/48k. If the sample rate was supposed to be pulled down it would have been 29.97/47952, aka '30 pull-down'.

Use a 29.97,pull-down ProTools session and go in ANALOG to effect a sample rate conversion on the stem material.
Or, if preferred, go in digital but keep the session as 'no PullDown'.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID Sync HD won't generate 23.976 LTC jim33 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-20-2012 10:20 AM
sync to Avid Scratch rafukyo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-11-2010 04:12 AM
Avid MOJO won't stay in sync - please help mbauer1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 11-24-2006 08:16 AM
AVID and PT sync question? Pentium Post - Surround - Video 10 04-06-2005 01:54 AM
omf avid to pt: sync slippage c-post Post - Surround - Video 6 02-16-2002 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com