Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:22 PM
Mitai Mitai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default computer is crashing !!!!

I have Le, 6.9.2 with an M-box and a power g4. Sometimes when I quit PT a screen comes up that says I need to restart my comp, I do that and then it was because OSX crashed, this just leads to more problems, and I have to reinstall pt. I was thinking it could be something to do with the comp, like not enough memory or something.
Heres are my comps. specs.
Power G4
CPU speed-1.67 GHz
L2 Cache-512 KB
Memory-512 KB
Bus speed-167 MHz
I have done everything it says to do in the trouble shooting post..no luck with that. I even reinstalled everything a couple times, but when I started using PT again it happened again.
I have the 6.9.2 update for tiger too.
Any ideas why? should I just take it to my local Mac store, have them take a look at it?

Thanks for any help
Mitai
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:37 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

I think you mean 512 MB RAM.

Even so 512 is barely enough RAM to run Mac OS let alone PTLE. The problem you're experiencing is called a kernel panic, and suggests a serious problem like bad RAM, a corrupt system/drives (which can be caused by bad RAM) or another serious hardware problem with the Mac itself. If you don't know how to troubleshoot this stuff you either need to take your Mac to a service center, call a tech, or get a book or two, and learn how to diagnose this stuff yourself. I'm a big fan of the latter. I'm too poor, and lack the trust for the first two options.

Whatever you do if your OS, and PTLE versions are known compatible do not update either until your system is stable. You'll just be adding anither variable to the troubleshooting process.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:49 PM
Mitai Mitai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

thanks for the help
I had to update Le, cause I need it to run with Tiger. I had an E-Mac which had 256 MB of Ram but that worked fine, I had pt 6.4 and I never had this problem.
????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:50 PM
Mitai Mitai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

my bad, my Emac also had 512 Ram, but that worked fine, my laptop didn't work at all
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:21 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

Quote:
thanks for the help
I had to update Le, cause I need it to run with Tiger.
So it was an OS/App incompatibility. That can cause kernel panics as well. I usually like to make sure any software I install is compatible with my OS before installing.

I won't even attempt to run PTLE on X until I have at least 1GB RAM. Sure it might work with 512, but I want it to work well. I don't want my hard drives thrashing away with VM swap files while attempting to stream 24 tracks of audio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:32 PM
Mitai Mitai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

yea, I was thinkin that could be the problem, I'm lookin in to get more ram, upgrade to 1GB. Thanks for the help, do you know any places online where I could get more Ram? I heard that with a powerbook it can be tough to get more ram cause there aren't extra slots for it, know anything about that?

thanks
pz


Mitai
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:44 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: computer is crashing !!!!

I know where you can get good RAM, but I'm not hip to the installation in newer Books.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project crashing my computer kringe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-17-2011 01:23 AM
I need A new Setup for PT my computer keeps crashing! gmorey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-09-2009 09:12 AM
PLEASE HELP!!!!! computer keeps crashing Gadachi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-18-2008 11:21 PM
protools is crashing my computer dcostello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-11-2006 11:11 PM
swmidi.sys crashing computer? exo iii 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-26-2004 08:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com