Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2004, 08:18 AM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

After twice having to re-authorize all of my 3rd party plugs (due to cpu problems)...Should I look into the CCC (or something like it)? In the event of another problem, Would this make life easier and quicker? Do these kind of applications work well?
How does it work? (Do I copy my entire sytem drive to another hard drive?)
MOST importantly...do 3rd party authorizations survive the "trip"?
thanks in advance

(I've searched the duc....just wanted some simple straight forward answers)
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2004, 09:22 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

Quote:
After twice having to re-authorize all of my 3rd party plugs (due to cpu problems)...Should I look into the CCC (or something like it)? In the event of another problem, Would this make life easier and quicker? Do these kind of applications work well?
How does it work? (Do I copy my entire sytem drive to another hard drive?)
MOST importantly...do 3rd party authorizations survive the "trip"?
thanks in advance

(I've searched the duc....just wanted some simple straight forward answers)
YES! (all of it)

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2004, 09:57 AM
silverlode silverlode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 347
Default Re: Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

CCC is a great tool. It will make a complete clone of your entire hard drive, or you can use it to do daily syncs of certain folders. What I do is have a second HD of the same size as my main system, start out with a complete clone, then do daily syncs. I always have a copy of my hard drive that's never more than a day old.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2004, 02:19 PM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

Quote:
Quote:
After twice having to re-authorize all of my 3rd party plugs (due to cpu problems)...Should I look into the CCC (or something like it)? In the event of another problem, Would this make life easier and quicker? Do these kind of applications work well?
How does it work? (Do I copy my entire sytem drive to another hard drive?)
MOST importantly...do 3rd party authorizations survive the "trip"?
thanks in advance

(I've searched the duc....just wanted some simple straight forward answers)
YES! (all of it)

regs
...almost "yes" to all of it. Waves' plug-in authos do NOT trasfer directly to other hard drives, even with CCC. Waves reads the unique identifier of the hard drive and generates a new autho challenge specifically for that drive, which will not work on any other drive - you must contact them to get another autho code (bear in mind that you only bought "one" license when you purchased their plug-ins). If other plug-in authos don't directly tranfer, then their original codes do, so you just have to reauthorize with your initial code.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2004, 02:59 PM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

Hey Chris
not to get too convoluted...but If i CCC'ed my system drive to another drive for backup purposes... AND then (when/if needed) brought the CCC version back to the original drive (where waves was first authorized)... would waves see the initial unique identifier??? (and therefore not require re-authorization)
(obviously if I had to replace my original hard drive this would not be the case)
just wondering
thanks for the answers
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:55 AM
Stevie D Stevie D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Poulsbo, Wa
Posts: 63
Default Re: Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer?

Will Retrospect do the same thing?
__________________
Ground Floor Recording

Taylor SB Custom Humbucker
74 Tele
Taylor 614CE
Taylor 655CE
Baby Taylor
Custom Nylon string solid body
Ibanez Roadstar
11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Copy Cloner (or sim) copy Disk Authorisations? Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2009 08:11 PM
Question about Carbon Copy Cloner Shanegrla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-27-2009 09:50 AM
Carbon Copy Cloner question WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-05-2009 08:49 AM
New boot drive in OSX with Carbon Copy Cloner? Chris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-15-2004 10:17 PM
Carbon Copy Cloner joepopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-08-2003 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com