Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2006, 04:24 AM
markymark1971 markymark1971 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Please help! 002 connection problem with G5

HI, newbie to the board in desperate search for help regarding unexplained failure of 002 / G5 connection.

Here's the deal;

Digi 002 Rack connected via firewire to G5 (dual 2Gig early model) running Panther.

Up until last night, never experienced a problem - just playing back some stuff on iTunes, via the 002 - cool as.
This morning, switch on the 002, and all it does is make the 'click' when you switch the 002 on, over and over - it cannot make the connection to the G5. I've tried the obvious things, power down the oo2, restert the Mac, change the Firewire port on both the 002 and G5, wiggle the lead etc etc. Also downloaded the latest 002 drivers, but nothing will resolve this problem.

There is no logical reason for this as nothing in the setup has chnged, or been moved at all.

Last noight it was all working. Switched everything off (apart from the G5) overnight (as usual) and switched on the 002 today - now it doesn't connect.

Any ideas? i just got a bad feeling a large invoice is on it's way to get this sorted, and i'm p*ssed!!

HELP!!! Many thanks ;o((
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2006, 06:35 AM
ANDRE CAMPOS ANDRE CAMPOS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Please help! 002 connection problem with G5

HI MARK.

I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS YOU, SAME CONFIGURATION AND I KNOW SOMEONE THAT HAD IT TOO, HE SEND THE DIGI002 TO THE SERVICE 2 TIMES ....
I ALSO HAD IT WEN I STARTED MY DIGI 002 ON MY NOTEBOOK ....
I DONT KNOW WHAT COULD BE... BUT WE WILL FIND OUT

REGARDS,

ANDRE CAMPOS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:56 AM
zootalors zootalors is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Please help! 002 connection problem with G5

This sounds like the "Power harness" has failed in your 002. It's a common problem and can be fixed - it happened to me. Do a search for more info on power harness failure.
Digidesign will send you a new power harness free, and you take apart the unit and install it yourself. Not too hard, just need a screwdiver and sobriety!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:04 PM
markymark1971 markymark1971 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Please help! 002 connection problem with G5

Many thanks dudes - will give it a go!
Appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11 Rack to PC Connection Problem - Help Please InnerSpark Eleven Rack 10 07-28-2013 05:46 AM
PROBLEM WITH CONNECTION, PLEASE HELP!!! elpapi18 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-01-2007 12:04 PM
Problem with Firewire connection on used 002 CraigM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-03-2007 06:34 AM
Problem With TRS connection Bouni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-13-2007 03:06 PM
002 connection problem joshlynch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-04-2005 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com