Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:15 PM
murph16 murph16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 731
Default My first ever XP Blue Screen...help??

I got my first ever "Blue Screen of Death" today while dragging a file from the Audio bin onto a track. (My oh my, the XP BSoD is impressive...text fills the screen from top to bottom)
After having to manually shut down, I can't open up ProTools anymore without this error message:

ProToolsLE.exe - NoDisk
There is no disk in the drive
Please insert a disk in the drive

I can't cancel or close this window. meanwhile, ProTools loads underneath it and when it is done loading, I can then cancel the error message and it seems to work fine.
Before I start tooling around, I thought I'd run this one by you guys first.

Any suggestions? I don't have a ProTools LE 5.3.1 disk. The latest disk I have is my 5.1 disk.

Hmmmmmmm.
Anxiously awaiting your expert replies,
Murph [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
Bill Murphy
www.murphonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:44 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: My first ever XP Blue Screen...help??

I had a similar crash with XP (only one). Things only returned to normal after I unplugged the computer for about 2 minutes. Rebooting or turning the computer off didn't work. Unplugging is a long shot, but it might work.

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2003, 01:56 PM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: My first ever XP Blue Screen...help??

I used to have this error on 5.1

I belevie the solution was to load up PT with some disk in the drive. And I think I also changed the CMOS to not scan the drives for disks when loading up. Try that, also do a search, cause this has been covered before.

yes, the BSoD is quite artsy.
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 Blue Screen ninjaroach 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 12-12-2010 06:52 PM
Blue Screen with LE on Win XP kiwiben 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-02-2003 02:02 PM
VxD and the Blue Screen quartermayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-16-2002 07:25 PM
The Blue Screen RDOG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2000 04:14 PM
Blue screen mark king 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-26-2000 11:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com