Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2009, 12:05 PM
lululu lululu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Default Command 8 fader resolution

Hi all
Considering buying a command 8 but weighing up alternative options... The main things which makes or breaks it for me is the fader and knobs resolution. I understand that Command is basically a midi device for PT, be it connected via usb or actual midi cables.
I wondered whether the fader resolution actually arriving and being useful to Pro Tools is therefore any better than with any other HUI device? Same for the knobs?

Also, I would like to know if anyone knows whether there's any difference in terms of quality and resolution of faders and knobs between the old command 8 from 2004 and the latest 003 ?

If anyone could shed some light, that would be much appreciated...

thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2009, 10:10 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 884
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

I believe they all use the HUI protocol which is 1024 steps in the fader path. Mackie MCU protocol is apparently the same. As far as motor-fader hysteresis and the resolution of your coffee-shaking finger on the fader, YMMV :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:28 AM
blackmacdaddy blackmacdaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 422
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottgreiner View Post
I believe they all use the HUI protocol :)
Actually, this is incorrect. The HUI protocol is only 8 bits and only allows 256 possible values, this results in .3 dB and larger jumps (as you progress towards the bottom of the fader.)

Mackie and ANY other 3rd party controller being used in Pro Tools is limited to this "coarser" 8 bit resolution. Worth noting, is that the Mackie MCU controllers on Logic use the full 10 bits of resolution.

Roger Nichols claims that anyone, with practice, can learn to detect .1 dB changes in level.

The Command|8 & 003 use 10 bit resolution which does give 1024 steps and allows for .1 dB changes in the top throw of the fader.

Just clarifying.

Best :)

Walt
__________________
It's only R'n'R but I like it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2009, 03:57 AM
lululu lululu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

ah thats interesting, did you come across any official website from digi which would back this up?
I'm just a bit confused cos its a midi device for PT and it would kind of make sense then if it would use the HUI protocol in some way....?
I'm also getting conflicting info about the HUI protocols capabilities I heard values form 128 steps to 512 steps, the latter probably would be acceptable for me, since I'm not 100% sure I'm quite there yet with the 0.1db detection and the interpolation that happens in PT anyway.

Maybe anyone official could chime in?
Cheers
M
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2009, 08:23 AM
Audio_Vision Audio_Vision is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 318
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

It is in the Pro Tools manual, MIDI control surfaces in Pro Tools have only 7 bit resolution resulting 128 discrete steps, which is interpolated to 24 bits. All Digi control surfaces have 10 bit resolution, 1024 discrete steps, also interpolated to 24 bits. HUI will have less fader resolution than Command 8. Depending on your use of the HUI, that may or may not be important to you.
__________________

Digital Media Engineer
Discovery Communications
http://corporate.discovery.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:26 PM
lululu lululu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio_Vision View Post
It is in the Pro Tools manual, MIDI control surfaces in Pro Tools have only 7 bit resolution resulting 128 discrete steps, which is interpolated to 24 bits. All Digi control surfaces have 10 bit resolution, 1024 discrete steps, also interpolated to 24 bits. HUI will have less fader resolution than Command 8. Depending on your use of the HUI, that may or may not be important to you.

Do you mean this:
Most MIDI control surfaces have 7-bit resolution, or 128 steps.
Pro Tools interpolates this input to 24-bit reso-
lution on playback, resulting in accurate and
smooth fader automation.

What confuses me about this is that it says "MOST" so that, to me, means there is a possibility that a HUI device can send more and PT understands more than 128 steps, no?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2009, 12:44 AM
lululu lululu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

Could any of the moderators shed some light, maybe?
Much appreciated


M
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2009, 02:37 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: Command 8 fader resolution

Frontier Design claim that their Alpha Track emulates a HUI and functions according to the HUI protocol with a resolution of 1024 Steps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the fader resolution on the 003 factory? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-30-2007 09:39 AM
Command 8 fader resolution? turnstile ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 02-24-2005 02:36 PM
Fader resolution in PT johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-14-2001 05:57 AM
C24 Fader Resolution fdc ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 9 03-12-2001 12:53 AM
Control24 fader resolution? Peter Duemmler General Discussion 8 01-26-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com