Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2008, 05:04 AM
toneski toneski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 93
Default G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ?

Hi,

I have a G5 Dual 2.7GHZ Powermac and I have just ordered two Seagate 7200.11 500GB drives to fit internally. They can run as Sata I or Sata II drives depending on jumper positions. Should I set the drives to run in th Sata I mode or Sata II mode? Any help would be very much appreciated. Very many thanks,
__________________
Regards
Tony

Hackintosh Quadcore i7 3.4GHZ; OS X 10.8.4; HD4 PT version 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:42 AM
toneski toneski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ?

Bump!
__________________
Regards
Tony

Hackintosh Quadcore i7 3.4GHZ; OS X 10.8.4; HD4 PT version 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:42 AM
toneski toneski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ?

Bump!
__________________
Regards
Tony

Hackintosh Quadcore i7 3.4GHZ; OS X 10.8.4; HD4 PT version 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:55 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ?

150 (Sata I) not 300 (Internals).
Unless you add a Sata II card for performance.
BTW: System profiler gives the bus speed!
Let us know how the new drives work out.
tc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2008, 12:18 PM
toneski toneski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: G5 Dual 2.7GHZ - Sata I or Sata II Drive setting ?

Many thanks for the advice TCDet, I will leave the drives in the Sata I setting. I will let you know how they get on, other DUC contributors are already using these drives I think and they seem to run cool and fast. Once again many thanks,
__________________
Regards
Tony

Hackintosh Quadcore i7 3.4GHZ; OS X 10.8.4; HD4 PT version 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best second internal hard drive in G5 Dual 2,7GHz Labyrinth Services Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-31-2006 05:37 AM
Which SATA 2 drive for G5 Dual Core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-24-2006 03:42 PM
Do SATA Controllers/ PCI Cards/ SATA Drives work.. Jason Robo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-14-2005 07:23 PM
Onboard SATA + PCI SATA + Protools LE = bootcrash? insolace 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-10-2005 11:06 AM
Setting up a SATA drive - how? Voideco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-14-2004 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com