Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > System 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2017, 05:51 PM
Rpro Rpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 42
Default Panning group busses on S5

Mixing 18 tracks of drums on the S5 along with other instruments. I assigned groups buss 1 and 2 to a few strips. I send the kicks, snare and tom tracks to group buss 1 and 2 and assign the group busses to the mix buss and remove the source tracks from the mix buss. The source tracks are panned appropriately but there is no way to pan the group buss. The reason for this is to insert external EQ and compression to drive the drums hard. The issue is that the group busses are dead center. The pan button won't activate. On my DM2000 I can pan the group busses hard left and right.

I need a way to pan group busses. Any thoughts are welcome.

Thanks
__________________
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Pro Tools 12.8HDX
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Nuendo 10
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Cubase Pro 10
Euphonix System 5, 408's, 401, 402, 403
eMix 6.1.1.20.1, HybridAPP 20.1, EuconWS 3.6.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2017, 09:49 AM
Steven1145 Steven1145 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 192
Default Re: Panning group busses on S5

Have you checked the pan format of your group busses in eMix? It is in the BUSSES -> Groups section. You can right-click on the busses you want, and assign their "format". You would need to assign them as L and R of a stereo record Group. If they show M, it's that they are mono and the panner is probably made inactive.
__________________
Steven Ghouti
YELLOW CAB Studios
Paris, France

The studio FB page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2017, 02:24 PM
Rpro Rpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 42
Default Re: Panning group busses on S5

Yes I have checked the pan format in eMix.

Ok I resolved the panning issue.

On the strips where you place the group busses you assign them to the mix buss but now press the knob to spill the stereo or 5.1 channels. In stereo remove R St from the left group buss and remove L St from the right group buss. In Patchnet go to Console IO then group busses and patch in your favorite outboard comps and EQs. On the S5 Hit the insert button on each buss. Done!
__________________
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Pro Tools 12.8HDX
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Nuendo 10
Windows Pro 10 X64 - Cubase Pro 10
Euphonix System 5, 408's, 401, 402, 403
eMix 6.1.1.20.1, HybridAPP 20.1, EuconWS 3.6.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Busses Mac Pro TCLguy1 FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 08-31-2016 06:52 PM
Problem with effect send and group busses and mixing RedMagpie General Discussion 7 05-12-2016 11:28 PM
1 track in group isn't responding with group! gregwor macOS 7 01-25-2011 07:22 PM
Busses Nick Jarl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 04-27-2009 08:13 AM
Group Persists for Resizing Even When Group Turned Off. holden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2008 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com