Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Old 11-16-2022, 04:32 PM

Default No sound coming out through my headphones

Hello all talented people,

I am a totally new to Pro Tools (a dummie) ... have been exploring Intro version, but feel I will upgrade my account pretty soon,.... love it so far!

For better reference, my setup is:

- iMac 18,3 / (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017) / (Quad-Core Intel Core i5) / (3.4 GHz) / (8GB)

- OS Ventura 13.0.1

- Keystation 49 MK3

- Headphones SONY MDR-7506

I do not have any Audio Interface yet, just plugged into my iMac's socket.

I am trying to follow some tutorials - basics about creating virtual instruments, making my first MIDI recording, etc, but struggling with the proper setup of I/O, Playback Engine etc. No sound coming through my headphones.

I would appreciate deeply to receive some tips for good quality sources (links, references, online tutorials for dummies), for the beginners from scratch to advance, to be able to better understand this sophisticated tool and educate myself in Pro Tools.

Thank you very much, really appreciate your willingness to help and support.

Kind regards,
Lazzo
Old 11-17-2022, 01:06 AM

Default Re: No sound coming out through my headphones

What variety (Ultimate, Studio, Artist, Intro?) and what exact release date of Pro Tools are you using?

So one thing at a time. I cannot follow exactly where you are at and what is or is not working. First you need to get the basic Pro Tools Audio working. So lets start there...