Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2000, 01:39 PM
Carcaridon Carcaridon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 297
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

Childish.
Can't people just use what they're comfortable with and not get hassled and hacked on for it?

Heath
__________________
Heath
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2000, 03:15 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

Since we've lost our true "oracle" on the digi front, I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that MY VERY RELIABLE SOURCES say that the Etch-a-Sketch PLUS will blow the socks off of any current system. I hear that it will be announced at the next EAS convention in June (that's "Etch-a-Sketch Artists' Society"). Here is a summary of new features:

1. Color - yes, after 25 years of production, they will finally implement color. The first generation will only be 16 colors, but my sources say that Hasbro intends 256 by the end of the year.

2. 3.1 surround. Of course, this will require a "third" wheel. 'nuff said.

3. PC slots - 2 of 'em for saving your favorite "mixes" onto the memory cards.

4. Airport support - yes, you will now be able to listen to all the traffic controllers jabber incessantly, too.

5. I couldn't get much detail on this, but there is supposed to be a DB-25 port on the back which is for "future expansion capabilities".

...see you at EAS...

__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2000, 10:29 PM
danl danl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 44
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

Unfortunately, I've heard digi001 for etch a sketch plus won't be shipping until the second half of 2001. I've already got mine on order.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2000, 12:15 AM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

i have almost decided. the pentium is nice, but the etch a sketch has smoother graphics and reboots faster (just shake it)
what do you guys think? which os are you using on etch a sketch? i keep getting the grey screen of death. the two wheel interface is lousy too.
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2000, 07:58 AM
slotools slotools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: rocklin,ca ,placer
Posts: 92
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

Gosh- I only hope that it will work as well as the mix plus version. It doesnt tax the cpu and has 3rd party support like waves S4 sketchimaxer which slams your sketches harder for that real extreme look.
Digidesign has D-Noun spellchecker plug, but i will wait for the kind of loud plug
that is not out yet.
And access Virus will announce a true computer virus that will digest all the gremlins in our computer recording systems.

Digi is not just for recording any more. The
Denny's plug in will work 24/7, act rude to you and serve you cold food.
Brave new world indeed.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2000, 08:50 AM
Paul Curtiz Paul Curtiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

(May 1st 2000) "Etch-a-sketch announces TC ruler implementation for EAS Digi001."

Sam T. Oftsaid (CEO of EAS Digital) said : "any cheap peace of software has this feature, we felt it was necessary to implement this for our customers. We're still working on a minor bug (SMPTE offset needs to be re-entered when the EAS is shaken - not stirred), but we'll have this cleared asap."


------------------
Paul Curtiz / Scratch Studio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2000, 01:33 AM
edhamilton edhamilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NYC - Vegas these days
Posts: 172
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

I heard a rumor that digi etch a sketch 24-96 will ship this summer.
Digi's upgrade is as follows:
etch mix plus to 2496- $4000 core and card
etch mix to 2496- $6000
etch 24 to 2496- $7000

etch 2496 list price $7999

There will be no upgrades for etch interfaces.

Etch 001 will be upgraded to 002.
It will use a etch24 card for track count and to end latency. All dsp will be host based.
Price $899
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2000, 09:37 AM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

when i hook up a second etch via leadwire, i can only get display mirroring. do i need more etch ram to have one big etch desktop?
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2000, 11:06 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

I don't think RAM will help in this case, although whether you're using PC-100 Etch-RAM322 or 222 might make a difference - but I'm no expert on Etch-a-Sketches. I can hardly make stickmen.

Have you tried unchecking the "mirror Etch-a-Sketch ports" box in the Hardware setup menu?

Just a thought...
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2000, 01:01 PM
slotools slotools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: rocklin,ca ,placer
Posts: 92
Default Re: pentium vs. etch a sketch; seriously

Regarding my previous post, on the home pregnancy software-latentcy can be a scary thing.....

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Room setup, ergonomically and acoustically (sketch inside) Loudyman General Discussion 7 12-11-2011 06:44 PM
intel core 2 duo vs pentium d and pentium 4 chips djdevelop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-08-2006 12:34 PM
AMD or Pentium 4?... gnr5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-28-2004 04:53 PM
ProTools as an etcha-sketch? Jeff Schmidt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-15-2002 12:12 AM
AM III and Pentium 4 studio43 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-12-2001 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com