Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2022, 03:15 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 210
Default Heat/M1 13" MBP

Hi all,

So I am away from home for a while, and using my M1 MBP 13", 16GB and 256GB to edit on the move, PT 2021.12 is the most recent I can use, OS is 12.5, recording to internal drive.

I've noticed quite a bit of heat when running sessions.
The current session I am on has 7 VIs (Kontakt and Korg), 2/3 audio tracks, 4 aux sends, average of 1 plug per channel so nothing crazy) : CPU meter is at 15% ish.

My CPU is at 60 -70 degress C and the fan is on at 1200rpm (data thanks to istatistica)
Obviously bigger sessions, with say 20/30 audio trackes added to the above, and my CPU temp is 80/90 degrees C.

So 2 questions really...

Is this normal?
(I know it's a fairly basic M1 mac now compared to the pros/max/ultra etc)

How are people finding the 14" m1 pro MBP running sessions, does it handle a lot better because of performance cores, therefore little to no heat?
I can feel the heat on the keyboard a little, but especially so on the underside of the machine, at the rear in the middle. Apple 67 watt charger plugged in at all times to save on battery cycles.

I did search the forum here, and learned a lot, but couldn't find anything this specific

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2022, 03:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,312
Default Re: Heat/M1 13" MBP

Unfortunately yes, it is normal for Kontakt and Korg which are not really AAX plugins but instead VST with a wrapper. Rosetta only makes it worse as it is yet another emulation layer.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2022, 04:30 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 210
Default Re: Heat/M1 13" MBP

Thanks Janne,

Can I ask exactly what you mean by that?
Lazy coding on behalf of Kontakt and Korg, just ported across?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2022, 10:45 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 210
Default Re: Heat/M1 13" MBP

I don't understand this, can someone explain pls?

I deleted the vst's from the vst plugin folder as I don't use any vst and it was taking up room.
Upon booting protools session up, I was missing BFD and Korg plugs.
There are AAX versions of both BFD and Korg in my aax plugins folder, so it got me thinking about Jfreak's response to me above.

Are some plugs wrapped from vst to aax even although there is an aax plugin in the correct folder?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2022, 11:28 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,811
Default Re: Heat/M1 13" MBP

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornedrum View Post
Are some plugs wrapped from vst to aax even although there is an aax plugin in the correct folder?
Yes, I'm shure I've seen this before.
I have no details, I'm afraid, but some AAX'es are just pointers/shells for the code that actually resides in the VST.

Can't you restore the VSTs?


PS: A clue, that I think I've seen, is that the size of the AAX is very much smaller than the VST.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2022, 05:10 AM
hornedrum hornedrum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 210
Default Re: Heat/M1 13" MBP

You're correct Ben, thanks.
Ran the installers again and everything back to normal.

You learn something new every day!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEAT: is "Buss" a Post send? tuchel macOS 1 10-13-2017 03:04 PM
controlling "HEAT "plugin with Dcommand ? francois ICON & C|24 3 08-17-2015 02:48 PM
No effect with HEAT's "Drive" knob in the first position to the right midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 3 07-08-2015 03:15 PM
New Mixing Product for PT HD called "HEAT" Tom Graham General Discussion 27 09-17-2010 01:47 AM
Can't heat the "click" John B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-08-2002 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com