Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Sketch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2023, 09:42 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

I have this idea in my head, would it be possible? I have 6th generation iPad mini, It is a small and powerful tool! I got Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 4th Generation with Focusrite Rednet series converters with 120 dB dynamic range - very impressive! Can I have this Audio Interface with USB-C Connector somehow connect it to iPad and using Sketch to put it recording? I think the answer is no, but I ask it just in case. The connection and the necessary driver are probably the problem. Why I would like that is because computer is too big and many other reasons. I would use this set to record in nature. For example, I would use the battery bank to provide power for Focuser Scarlett.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2023, 10:17 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,874
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Sure you can. The 4i4 supports USB audio class compliance and so will work when you just connect it up, you might need the (edit: Lightning not Thunderbolt, doh) Lightning camera adapter/dongle to get to a USB 2 port, depending on what iPad you have. All works for me with RME interfaces (when set to class compliance mode).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-09-2023 at 08:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2023, 10:30 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Wow, this is super good news anyway. I will take the test in the near future. Do you think the drver already exists for iPad OS? It must then be inside Sketch.
Edit. OK, I went to the Google that USB Class Compliant, it means you can plug it into your computer (iPad in this case) and it will work without the need for any other special software (which we call drivers).
Then what audio interfaces work with Pro Tools Sketch?
Is this correct list? :
Series
* Avid MTRX (16)
* Black Lion Audio Mod (12)
* Avid HD (9)
* Apogee Symphony MKII (6)
* Lynx Aurora(n) (4)
* Focusrite Red (2)
* Focusrite RedNet (1)
* Prism Sound Dream (1)

Last edited by inspire; 11-07-2023 at 11:10 AM. Reason: Specification
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2023, 11:09 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,874
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

The 4i4 is class compliant. So it uses the class compliant USB audio driver that Apple includes in iOS/iPadOS. Just like on macOS the 4i4 uses the Apple provided USB class compliant driver. The only Focusrite provided driver for a 4i4 is the Windows driver to give ASIO support.

I have no idea what else you are asking about or where this other list came from. Sketch is a simple audio app, it should work with any audio interface that you can get working on an iPad. So at a minimum any interface that has USB audio class compliance.

You seem to be listing a bunch of DigiLink interfaces, DigiLink is Avid proprietary connection use by high-end systems, it has nothing to do with USB audio connection to an iPad or any other device. You have a Focusrite 4i4 again, USB, nothing to do with DigiLink.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2023, 11:15 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

I am very pleased with this news, I have inadvertently bought the right thing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2023, 04:36 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Just for your information, this morning I tried using my iPad mini with my own cable, but it didn't work; the app just froze.
I decided that even though the cable seemed to fit, I needed a new one because it's probably only meant for charging with USB-C. I bought one today, and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it should work!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0019.jpg (24.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0021.jpg (22.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7941.jpg (19.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7942.jpg (28.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2023, 08:37 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bonita Springs Florida
Posts: 695
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Keep us posted ....
Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2023, 09:42 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Quick test shows that the new cable is working!

The cable I tried in the morning was the original cable that came with the iPad mini, which I bought a year ago.

I have not yet microphones connected, these tests will be done later. But I don't think I need to say that I am very happy!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2023, 10:36 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bonita Springs Florida
Posts: 695
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

Inspire....

Awesome news!
Whooooo hoooooo

Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-10-2023, 03:15 AM
inspire inspire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 134
Default Re: Is it possible to use PT Sketch with an external microphone preamp as a recorder?

I first got a iPad microphone working. In order to make the input, headphones must be connected. Without this thing, it did not work! Maybe it makes sense, but I messed for a time before I realised it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7946.jpg (88.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0031.jpg (22.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac external Digital IO connector for external preamp ramonetl Pro Tools 12 5 10-31-2016 12:58 AM
Microphone Preamp yes or no Jr Toad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-09-2005 02:28 PM
Using a microphone preamp with Digi002 Rack hymns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-15-2005 07:12 AM
Microphone/PreAmp Question vocalize Tips & Tricks 1 04-08-2004 01:08 AM
Sync with an external recorder like a Korg D16 or Roland recorder yoshi68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-17-2001 08:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com