Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2011, 11:12 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 289
Default Import Session Data issue/question

I was wondering, how to ungray or activate the "Import-Overlay new on existing playlists" in the Import session data window. I had a session that I was working on and wanted to import all of the plug inns, sends etc onto another session that I was working on. The tracks even had the same names. It would have been a real time saver. No matter what options I chose I could never get that option to be available, it was always grayed out.

Does anyone know how to get it to work or another option that would be fast and easy?
PT 9.0.3 HD3
Mac OsX 10.6.6
Quad Core 2.8Ghz 4GB ram
Thanks

Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2011, 11:23 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Match Tracks
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:12 AM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 289
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by C View Post
Match Tracks
Could you expand on that a bit please?

Thanks,

Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2011, 11:55 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Sorry. It seems like the step you are missing is hitting the Match Tracks button on the centre right of the window.

This will try to match tracks within the two sessions and then enable the option to Overlay new on existing.

Hope that helps,

C
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2011, 12:30 PM
budster budster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 289
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Thanks Ceri

That is the ticket.

Buddy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2012, 02:26 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Hi I am trying to import session data but both "match tracks" and "Import overlay new on existing" are greyed out. How do I ungrey them??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2012, 04:15 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Overlay will be greyed out until you've hit Match Tracks.
Are you saying that you can't press the Match Tracks button?

The other option is to manually select the tracks to match against. Once a track is matched to an existing track the Overlay option should be available.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2012, 02:42 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by C View Post
Overlay will be greyed out until you've hit Match Tracks.
Are you saying that you can't press the Match Tracks button?

The other option is to manually select the tracks to match against. Once a track is matched to an existing track the Overlay option should be available.
Yes match tracks is also greyed out
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2012, 10:20 PM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 440
Default Re: Import Session Data issue/question

It is not Match Tracks that must be clicked necessarily. Specifically, you must have destination tracks chosen of which to import your source tracks to. Clicking Match Tracks will automatically select destination tracks for you that have the same or similar name as the source tracks, but if these names are too different then Match Tracks won't choose destinations for you and you will have to choose your destinations manually instead.

If Match Tracks doesn't work like in budster's case then I suggest selecting the destination tracks manually. Another thing to keep in mind is Match Tracks won't work if you are trying to match a mono track to a stereo track or say an aux to anything else.

-Justin
__________________
Justin Walker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi-Out Synth tempate and Session Data import issue. Dave Modisette Pro Tools 11 3 11-27-2013 11:47 AM
match track in Import session data window issue dgoodi22 macOS 5 09-06-2013 12:35 PM
Import Session Data Issue PT8 Themystro1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-04-2009 10:50 AM
IMPORT SESSION DATA TRACK ORDER ISSUE s_hull 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-21-2008 05:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com