Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > MBOX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-04-2022, 05:41 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,955
Default Re: MBOX Studio problem: crackling noise when booting up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hey Kev

Thanks for the video

Our Carbons sounds like that too but thats relays and not what I think the OP describes.

That sound is not pops and crackles and many of our outboards sounds like that:for example SSL Fusion and WesAudio NG_Buscomp.

And many more so i doubt thats what he is hearing (My opinion only)
I agree and why I stated it was not like what the OP was describing
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.5.1

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-05-2022, 10:10 AM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 464
Default Re: MBOX Studio problem: crackling noise when booting up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Novae Studios View Post
Hi JW, it happens not only when booting up the system, but also:
  • when turning MBOX on, while speakers are already on
  • when system is up and running, and I have to reboot my computer. the moment my mac connects to the Mbox Studio, you get the bursts.
  • when I launch Pro Tools after computer is booted up
  • selecting the MBOX Studio in the Playback Engine settings, when other hardware was selected while booting Pro Tools
  • when I log in and out of my user
  • when changing audio device in macOS system audio preferences (going away or towards the MBOX)
  • when opening Apple Music or any other audio software that connects to the MBOX.
Since "MBOX 2" and "Digi003" and every other interface I used since 2010, if I mess around with power and connection with my speakers ON, I would feel pretty stupid and/or worried. ESPECIALLY with the Digi003 in the professional studio from 1980s turned audio school in 2000s.

I bet SOMEONE has turned on a console with phantom power on, and speakers, and heard a pop, and DID NOT break the mic, who decided "you can do that ok."

So, nuff said by this situation to me. If you hear problems when speakers on and you are changing the audio input and output device, simplest bet is muting the speakers or powering down.

This equipment isn't really "meant" for consumer device hot swap.

Just saying, in these situations I totally expect the result and have for more than a decade. It's fool's hope to hot swap with never a problem.
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring //
||software: Ventura 13.1 | PT Studio 2022.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condenser mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG secondary display //
||automation: SoundFlow | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse //
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-05-2022, 11:07 AM
Novae Studios Novae Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ede, The Netherlands
Posts: 36
Default Re: MBOX Studio problem: crackling noise when booting up

Quote:
Originally Posted by nednednerb View Post
Since "MBOX 2" and "Digi003" and every other interface I used since 2010, if I mess around with power and connection with my speakers ON, I would feel pretty stupid and/or worried. ESPECIALLY with the Digi003 in the professional studio from 1980s turned audio school in 2000s.

I bet SOMEONE has turned on a console with phantom power on, and speakers, and heard a pop, and DID NOT break the mic, who decided "you can do that ok."

So, nuff said by this situation to me. If you hear problems when speakers on and you are changing the audio input and output device, simplest bet is muting the speakers or powering down.

This equipment isn't really "meant" for consumer device hot swap.

Just saying, in these situations I totally expect the result and have for more than a decade. It's fool's hope to hot swap with never a problem.

You have probably not seen JW’s response. Maybe read before you make any statements.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
__________________
Collin Leijenaar

Mac Pro 5.1, 128GB RAM, 4 TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
Macbook Pro 16" M1 Max, 64 GB Ram, 4TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.
Lynx Aurora LT-HD interfaces


https://collinleijenaar.com
https://www.facebook.com/Collinleijenaar/
https://www.instagram.com/collinleijenaar/
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-06-2022, 10:39 AM
nednednerb's Avatar
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 464
Default Re: MBOX Studio problem: crackling noise when booting up

I already replied directly to their concerns... Nuff said. What is expected to potentially happen is happening.

Since you obviously _do_ read, you must have just forgotten when I easily admitted the device might be a bad unit.

That said, what is expected to potentially happen is happening. Where is the confusion above?
__________________
___
>> me: nednednerB //
||main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring //
||software: Ventura 13.1 | PT Studio 2022.12 | Ableton Live 11 | iZotope RX, Ozone, Neutron | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune | Dubler2 //
||system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) 10-Core-i9 | 128GB-DDR4 | 5700-XT-16GB //
||devices: Focusrite Clarett 2Pre | some AT condenser mics | SM58 | Ableton Push 2 | 32" 4k LG secondary display //
||automation: SoundFlow | Keyboard Maestro | SteerMouse //
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-06-2022, 01:34 PM
Novae Studios Novae Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ede, The Netherlands
Posts: 36
Default Re: MBOX Studio problem: crackling noise when booting up

Quote:
Originally Posted by nednednerb View Post
I already replied directly to their concerns... Nuff said. What is expected to potentially happen is happening.

Since you obviously _do_ read, you must have just forgotten when I easily admitted the device might be a bad unit.

That said, what is expected to potentially happen is happening. Where is the confusion above?

As you can read in the post from Avid person JW it is not a faulty device. It is just how the device was designed and that they will try to mute those sounds in future firmware update.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
__________________
Collin Leijenaar

Mac Pro 5.1, 128GB RAM, 4 TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
Macbook Pro 16" M1 Max, 64 GB Ram, 4TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.
Lynx Aurora LT-HD interfaces


https://collinleijenaar.com
https://www.facebook.com/Collinleijenaar/
https://www.instagram.com/collinleijenaar/
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-27-2022, 12:13 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,158
Default Re: MBOX Studio....First Impressions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Novae Studios View Post
...When booting up my computer it produces a burst of 7 or 8 short crackling sounds out of the speakers...
Please install MBOX Control 1.0.1. This will update the MBOX Studio's firmware which should eliminate the series of pops (minus the one from powering up the DACs).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-14-2023, 02:41 AM
Novae Studios Novae Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ede, The Netherlands
Posts: 36
Default Re: MBOX Studio....First Impressions

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Please install MBOX Control 1.0.1. This will update the MBOX Studio's firmware which should eliminate the series of pops (minus the one from powering up the DACs).
Awesome! Yes, this solved the issue! Thank you so much everyone at Avid for listening to the feedback your customers!
__________________
Collin Leijenaar

Mac Pro 5.1, 128GB RAM, 4 TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
Macbook Pro 16" M1 Max, 64 GB Ram, 4TB SSD, MacOS Monterey 12.6.
HD Native PCIe & HD Native Thunderbolt.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.
Lynx Aurora LT-HD interfaces


https://collinleijenaar.com
https://www.facebook.com/Collinleijenaar/
https://www.instagram.com/collinleijenaar/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L Not Booting Up aloofkid VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 11-19-2018 02:25 AM
Booting an 192 i/o aux Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-16-2009 08:10 AM
Booting from a USB HDD oedipus_complex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-08-2004 01:38 AM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 06:31 AM
booting with xp mooda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-11-2002 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com