Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2015, 11:46 PM
maunaloa maunaloa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 112
Default AVB-E card for Windows

Forgive the dupe posting, but in case you are not following the AVB for Win thread in the S3 subforum, I installed the newly released Intel I210T1 AVB-E nic in my Win host (see sig). Installation went smoothly, driver downloaded from Intel site (no CD shipped with nic). The S3 control surface worked through the nic with a crossover Cat 6 cable, and through a plain ethernet switch. What was/is missing in the Windows world is glue software between the nic and ASIO. I have both MS native ASIO and ASIO4ALL. I installed MOTU's AVB driver for Windows... no joy. So, I'll post a request in Ideascale for Avid to develop an AVB driver for Windows so that owners of S3's and S3L's can use AVB to link the I/O in the S3 with the host. I assume that some Venue users are on Win hosts, but don't really know.

The Intel I210T1 nic costs about $80 and is a PCIe 1X device. It ships with both tall and short brackets. Last year, AVB-E nics were in the $800 range.

Please VOTE for an AVB driver for Windows in Ideascale.
__________________
ASRock X99 OC Formula mobo, Win 8.1 x64, PT HD 12.1, i7-5960X CPU, 32GB G.Skill 2133 RAM, Intel 750 PCIe SSD boot drive, ASRock TB2 AIC, Sonnet Tech III-D with 2 HDX cards on TB2, Omni, HD I/O, S3, Artist Transport, SSDs and spinners, AMD HD 7990 GPUs, 2 HP ZR30w panels on DP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2015, 01:36 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

there should actually ALREADY be an avb driver from avid for windows. I mean, the E3 for the S3L Venue systems do run Win8....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2015, 01:17 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

AFAIK AVB driver in Apple computers are Apple drivers, not Avid's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2015, 01:40 PM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplitude View Post
there should actually ALREADY be an avb driver from avid for windows. I mean, the E3 for the S3L Venue systems do run Win8....
E3 uses separate hardware to talk AVB, not any PC add-on board.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2015, 04:27 PM
maunaloa maunaloa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 112
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

I was under the impression that the E3 engine runs an embedded OS. (Is it embedded Windows? IDK. It's not embedded OS X since Apple doesn't license OS X.) The HDX cards in an E3 chassis are PCIe. The OS in an E-3 must have glue SW between the OS and the AVB port even if the AVB port is surface mount. The AVB port in the S-3, E-3, and stage boxes may, in fact, be a surface mount Intel I210, which are quite common in newer mobos. The surface mount AVB port probably uses PCIe lanes for data channels, and if so, the recoding for a Windows host is simply adapting the OS end of the channel.
__________________
ASRock X99 OC Formula mobo, Win 8.1 x64, PT HD 12.1, i7-5960X CPU, 32GB G.Skill 2133 RAM, Intel 750 PCIe SSD boot drive, ASRock TB2 AIC, Sonnet Tech III-D with 2 HDX cards on TB2, Omni, HD I/O, S3, Artist Transport, SSDs and spinners, AMD HD 7990 GPUs, 2 HP ZR30w panels on DP.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2015, 02:39 PM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

E3 runs Windows Embedded, but audio doesn't go through Windows (except for USB record and playback). Bare Windows in not a real-time OS, so time-critical things like live audio processing cannot happen on it. It would be just not reliable. In E3, audio reaches HDX through a different path.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2015, 03:15 PM
maunaloa maunaloa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 112
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

"bare windows" means Windows Embedded?
New term for me.
__________________
ASRock X99 OC Formula mobo, Win 8.1 x64, PT HD 12.1, i7-5960X CPU, 32GB G.Skill 2133 RAM, Intel 750 PCIe SSD boot drive, ASRock TB2 AIC, Sonnet Tech III-D with 2 HDX cards on TB2, Omni, HD I/O, S3, Artist Transport, SSDs and spinners, AMD HD 7990 GPUs, 2 HP ZR30w panels on DP.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2015, 03:55 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 283
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

I do believe what Valentyn is saying there is that windows, on it's own, "bare" is not a real time engine.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2015, 04:00 PM
maunaloa maunaloa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 112
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

Thx for the clarification. I was confused since Win 8 Embedded 8.0 Standard, 8.1 Pro, and 8.1 Industry are all realtime OS's.

Any idea which Windows Embedded is used in the E3 engine?

In any event, Avid has written (or updated Euphonix') Windows driver for AVB. This obviates my Ideascale suggestion to write such a driver....it's already written.

Bruce, Sheldon, or other mod.... could you put "porting the Windows Embedded driver for AVB" into the product plan for S3 Studio.
__________________
ASRock X99 OC Formula mobo, Win 8.1 x64, PT HD 12.1, i7-5960X CPU, 32GB G.Skill 2133 RAM, Intel 750 PCIe SSD boot drive, ASRock TB2 AIC, Sonnet Tech III-D with 2 HDX cards on TB2, Omni, HD I/O, S3, Artist Transport, SSDs and spinners, AMD HD 7990 GPUs, 2 HP ZR30w panels on DP.

Last edited by maunaloa; 04-10-2015 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2015, 01:18 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Default Re: AVB-E card for Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
I do believe what Valentyn is saying there is that windows, on it's own, "bare" is not a real time engine.
Yes, exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maunaloa View Post
Thx for the clarification. I was confused since Win 8 Embedded 8.0 Standard, 8.1 Pro, and 8.1 Industry are all realtime OS's.

Any idea which Windows Embedded is used in the E3 engine?
It's not a secret - you can quit VENUE (Exit to Desktop) and see the OS - it's Windows Embedded Standard. As of different WinE editions - it's just MS marketing. If fact, they try to sell two completely different OSes (Windows and Windows CE) under the same brand:
  • Windows Embedded Standard - a modular version of desktop Windows
  • Windows Embedded Professional - previous name of what is now Windows Embedded Standard
  • Windows Embedded Industry/Windows Embedded POSReady - Windows Embedded Standard for POS terminals
  • Windows Embedded Compact - Windows CE, now renamed
  • Windows Embedded NAVReady - Windows CE for navigation devices
  • Windows Embedded Automotive - Windows CE for automotive
  • Windows Embedded Handheld - based on Windows CE, similar to Windows Mobile
  • Windows Embedded Server - Windows Server for embedded use

Desktop/Server Windows is not a real-time OS. Windows CE is a real-time OS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I add a FW 800 Card to my Windows PC? hammerransom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-30-2010 04:58 AM
PCI card causes freeze on Windows XP PRO SP2 w/ PT LE 6.4 ladyelaine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-22-2007 03:46 PM
Digi001 PCI Card not seen by windows eledu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-20-2007 11:29 AM
MJPEG-A card for Windows XP ? MGalway Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 07-08-2003 06:09 AM
windows doesn't know my card Grysbock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-27-2001 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com