Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:02 AM
oedipus_complex oedipus_complex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 93
Default Terrible performance with Mbox

I can only apply two or three effects while recording before PT complains and halts. Playback isn't much better. Usually I can hear the HDD firing up moments after the halt. I also start to get strange distortion every now and then, requires me to restart the program to get rid of it....

Here's my computer specs:

MBox PT6.1.1
Acer Aspire 1703
P4 2.6Ghz
512Mb Ram
Win XP Home SP1

Incidentally, I also have an RME cardbus and Nuendo which run like the wind on the same machine...

Any ideas appreciated

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

The specs list on This page lists the following for that PC:
Quote:
Video Chipset/VRAM: Integrated SiSM650 / 64MB (shared)
And from the ProTools compatibility page:
Quote:
Known Incompatibilities: Computers with motherboards containing SiS (Silicon Integrated Systems) chipsets
Sorry man, that looks like your problem.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:34 AM
cruisemates cruisemates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 766
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

I have no knowledge, but I wonder what that Sis incompatibility is all about - it seems odd that a video chip would cause such havoc with PT. Just curious. And it also seems like such an incompatibility would be a more binary problem (on or off) rather than one that creeps in after a few plugins.

Anyway - while that is the likely problem, it wouldn't hurt to at least check all other settings before you ditch the computer. After doing all the stuff in the book, also look here:

http://www.sweetwater.com/support/ts...mization+guide

Then ditch the computer ;-)
__________________
- but the second mouse gets the cheese
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2004, 02:50 PM
MoreMeintheMonitors MoreMeintheMonitors is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Ether
Posts: 471
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

What's the actual error numbers you're getting?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2004, 07:16 PM
oedipus_complex oedipus_complex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 93
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

Right...damn...it's been one thing after the other with this mbox...

Anyway, what if I upgraded the video chip, would that help?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2004, 08:04 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

You can't upgrade the chip, it's Integrated meaning it's part of the motherboard.

I'm not saying that is definitely your problem, but it would be my first guess, and you'll probably get the same answer from digi support. Someone else here may have other suggestions that might help though.

So it's not the mBox that is giving you the trouble, it's your choice of PC.
Sorry dude, I know it's a pain.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2004, 09:14 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

The incompatability is about motherboard chipsets, not specifically video chipsets. But a motherboard with an integrated SiS video system is likely to have a SiS motherboard chipset as well...

__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2004, 12:28 PM
hzd hzd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Faroe Islands
Posts: 73
Default Re: Terrible performance with Mbox

Hi there.

I do believe, that you have found my problem as well. Don't know if I'm glad... Thanks anyway.

Guess I'll sell this computer and get a "real one"

Heðin.
__________________
eMachines M6811
1.25 GB RAM
Internal 5400 RPM 80 Gb
External 7200 RPM 160 Gb Maxtor Firewire
MBOX + 002R
ProTools LE 6.4
Ableton Live 5.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro i7 (8,3) performance terrible A Chapman macOS 36 07-29-2012 10:17 AM
Terrible output sounds from my MBox :( FuneralQueen Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-06-2010 11:39 PM
Help with terrible performance issues alange 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-01-2009 10:51 PM
Terrible Performance w/AMD Dual Core and PT7.0 haydini Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 01-17-2006 10:11 AM
Terrible Coreaudio Problems with Mbox Luke Iannini 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-06-2005 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com