Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2021, 12:56 PM
TigerTwin TigerTwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 9
Default Audio Glitch (noise) on start-up

hello all,

Upon start-up I am getting a rather annoying sustained noise,
sort of like a synthesized helicopter.

Previously, I changed the Playback Engine to match my ASIO interface, which worked, for a while, but now we are back to this awful noise.

There are no live mics, loaded VSTs, etc, that could be causing this--
it happens as soon as I launch any PTs session, even a new one.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
TT

PS---just realized signature gear is so outdated. Apologies. Will update soon, but for this question, I'm on Windows 10 Pro with PTs 2021. Thanks.
__________________
TigerTwin

computer-------MacBook Pro 2011
op system------Mac OSX 10.6.8
interface--------mBox Pro
DAW software--Pro Tools 9
kybd controller-Axiom Pro 61
ext hard drive--GLYPH GT050Q
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2021, 04:02 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,603
Default Re: Audio Glitch (noise) on start-up

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTwin View Post
Previously, I changed the Playback Engine to match my ASIO interface, which worked, for a while, but now we are back to this awful noise.
Hi, So did you select the MBox as your interface in the Playback Engine settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTwin View Post
just realized signature gear is so outdated. Apologies. Will update soon, but for this question, I'm on Windows 10 Pro with PTs 2021.
Accurate system info would be a huge help.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2021, 04:57 PM
TigerTwin TigerTwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 9
Default Re: Audio Glitch (noise) on start-up

hi Chris,

yes, so sorry that outdated gear list is still at the bottom there,
will change ASAP

current versions of PTs and Windows,
interface is an RME Fireface 802

Thanks
__________________
TigerTwin

computer-------MacBook Pro 2011
op system------Mac OSX 10.6.8
interface--------mBox Pro
DAW software--Pro Tools 9
kybd controller-Axiom Pro 61
ext hard drive--GLYPH GT050Q
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2021, 06:02 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,318
Default Re: Audio Glitch (noise) on start-up

For test purposes, if you have anything plugged into any input of the interface, unplug all and test. My "shot in the dark" is that maybe there is a momentary feedback loop happening just before Totalmix software loads This assumes you mean the computer booting up when you say "startup". If that's not correct, give more detail(its not possible to give too much info)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intensity Pro PT11 Video glitch at selection start Plethoraguy Post - Surround - Video 2 07-20-2015 07:49 PM
drumagog making odd "digital" noise in Record mode?PTsetting?glitch? twig 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-26-2010 09:12 AM
Noise/Glitch Pro Tools Academic 7.3.1cs1 Triple SeC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 03-22-2007 10:46 AM
glitch noise when t-racks is instansiated elheehaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-18-2003 07:24 PM
PT 6.1 Audio Glitch Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2003 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com