Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2021, 06:29 AM
Sidecut Sidecut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default HDX/Ultimate on I7

Are people running Ultimate on an HDX card with I7 processors? The requirements say: "Pro Tools | Ultimate - Intel® Core i9 or Intel® Xeon processor" but in another section it says "Protools 2021.7 Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise/Home on i7/i9 processors.

Any advice appreciated as I want to use a computer with I7 5960x 8Core on an ASUS X99-A.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2021, 04:19 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: HDX/Ultimate on I7

It will probably be fine, but I would switch to a Gigabyte motherboard. I would also at least do some comparisons with similarly priced Xeon and i9 cpu's(which you may have already done)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2021, 05:53 PM
Sidecut Sidecut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: HDX/Ultimate on I7

Thanks, Albee. Trying to repurpose a machine we already have.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2021, 08:27 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,309
Default Re: HDX/Ultimate on I7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidecut View Post
Thanks, Albee. Trying to repurpose a machine we already have.
Aha! Since you already have it, just dive in and see what happens
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2021, 07:49 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,946
Default Re: HDX/Ultimate on I7

I have a old DAW with this processor. I7 5960x 8Core

I will just say it's not fast enough for my current mixes. I think you are going to want to upgrade but that would be completely dependent on your needs.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2021, 03:40 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 277
Default Re: HDX/Ultimate on I7

I would say upgrade your mobo and CPU as well. The performance gains I got going from a 4930K to my current 10850K system was well worth the build.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?
Pro Tools Carbon on the way!


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
Core I-9 10850K Windows10 v.21H1 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh
Avid HDX 2021.10 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AudioScore Ultimate is in Sibelius Ultimate? bhs67 Getting Started 0 11-22-2020 09:44 AM
Getting PT Ultimate juancanto Pro Tools 2020 49 04-13-2020 04:56 PM
Bought PT Ultimate reinstatement, can't activate Ultimate subbasshead Licensing & Accounts 3 11-29-2019 10:23 PM
Native Instruments Komplete 11 Ultimate Update from Komplete Ultimate 8-10 joepopp Buy & Sell 0 09-25-2019 08:16 AM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com