Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2021, 12:29 PM
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2
Default Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

Hi there,

I generally understand the input only monitoring functionality and have no trouble with usual workflow regarding hearing myself while recording.

However, I have a recording situation where I am on headphones with my mic, about 20 feet from computer. Optimally, I don't have to check every couple minutes to see that I am still recording.

That's because, sometimes, recording just stops (old macbook, whatever haha). IF monitoring could be interrupted when recording accidentally stops, or there could be an alert in my headphones at that time, my workflow would be improved.

Does anybody have an idea of what to do in this situation? I want to know when recording stops without having to look at the computer.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2021, 01:14 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

Would it be beneficial for you to use a click track that only clicks during record? We nearly always record to click and I can tell if recording has stopped because the click stops.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2021, 05:00 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,717
Default Re: Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

Try this. Preferences>Operation...From the Reference Manual:

Mute Record-Armed Tracks While Stopped

This setting determines monitor status of record-armed tracks.

• When selected, Pro Tools mutes all record-enabled tracks when the transport is stopped. Input can still be monitored while stopped using the TrackInput Monitor button.

• When not selected, Pro Tools does not mute audio input on record-enabled tracks when the transport is stopped.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2021, 03:00 PM
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

Those are both great options.

Thanks for the ideas!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2021, 04:14 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,318
Default Re: Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

Good advice above. Another option you might consider: connect a second screen on a long cable(HDMI can go 50' without issue) so you can have a screen right in front of you. I did this with a mini keyboard(w/trackpad) so I could run a session from anywhere in the studio(using an active HDMI splitter on my EDIT screen). The whole setup was not much over $125, including the rolling stand
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2021, 05:24 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Default Re: Workflow Q: Do not monitor unless recording only?

iPad (or even phone) running Avid Control will show you if the transport is still rolling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good workflow for recording clips MacBryce Tips & Tricks 3 05-09-2018 11:27 PM
Recording Live Club dates with Pro Tools 10 - Workflow Question Brucefreeman Getting Started 11 08-11-2013 12:32 PM
workflow for re-recording audio? revans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-12-2010 08:21 AM
Workflow Q: FX Field Recording > Pro Tools > FX Database RenderBot Post - Surround - Video 5 05-30-2007 03:39 PM
Workflow advice on editing rough outdoor recording benjaminvdb Tips & Tricks 2 12-17-2003 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com