Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-23-2021, 01:17 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,122
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by protoolsuserman View Post
I think these M1 max is probably just the beginning
I agree. It's a new way of thinking about data management -- in many ways a new and highly optimized architecture -- and we're only seeing the earliest stages of how Apple and their developers will optimize their products for this new canvas.

Never have I thought about basing my home rig around a laptop but with these announcements I find myself considering it.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-27-2021, 08:05 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,156
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
... in many ways a new and highly optimized architecture ...
Yes. A+ Apple.
And, Apple isn't the only one pushing the envelope & optimizing architecture. CPU manufacturers are always trying to one-up one another. The new AMD & Intel chips are great. We now have PCIe 4 protocol for MBs/SSDs/GPUs, and PCIe 5 is coming soon. We now have DDR4 RAM, and DDR5 is coming soon. End users like us benefit from this competition!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-27-2021, 08:16 AM
MikeC MikeC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, England
Posts: 433
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

I'm really keen for replace my current Mac Mini with an M1 Max. Would be good to get a feel for when PT will be running on Monterey and approved by Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-27-2021, 10:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,794
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
I'm really keen for replace my current Mac Mini with an M1 Max. Would be good to get a feel for when PT will be running on Monterey and approved by Avid.
Not soon at all. Probably two years out at least.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-27-2021, 11:08 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,122
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
I'm really keen for replace my current Mac Mini with an M1 Max. Would be good to get a feel for when PT will be running on Monterey and approved by Avid.
It works today (using Rosetta) though video within PT is currently marooned. With such a large % of Apple's lineup ditching Intel, Avid has pressure to release Native support soon, and Monterey won't be far out. I've been testing PT on an M1 Mac with Monterey for almost a month. It's getting there.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:27 PM
epmi epmi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

On the bleeding edge here. Again. I have the MBP Pro Max with 32 Gb of RAM. It came with Monterey. Initially had an issue with older plugins. Once I weeded out any plugins dated 2018, it worked. (Everything was working fine in Big Sur, btw.)

I still have to run video in Logic via MTC. When will Avid catch up to the current chips in full native? As always, their development is a year or two behind. You would think video would be a no-brainer for a company that produces media composer.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:29 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,442
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by epmi View Post
When will Avid catch up to the current chips in full native? As always, their development is a year or two behind. You would think video would be a no-brainer for a company that produces media composer.
I would be shocked if not within 2021, hang in there...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-27-2021, 01:38 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,535
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by epmi View Post
On the bleeding edge here. Again. I have the MBP Pro Max with 32 Gb of RAM. It came with Monterey. Initially had an issue with older plugins. Once I weeded out any plugins dated 2018, it worked. (Everything was working fine in Big Sur, btw.)

I still have to run video in Logic via MTC. When will Avid catch up to the current chips in full native? As always, their development is a year or two behind. You would think video would be a no-brainer for a company that produces media composer.
Wow you got one already Very cool ... If you are interested I can find a link to download Big Sur
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.10 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-27-2021, 01:56 PM
epmi epmi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Thanks. The new m1 Macbook Pro Max won't run Big Sur. New computers come with Monterey pre-installed, and you can't roll them back.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-27-2021, 01:58 PM
epmi epmi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13
Default Re: Apple MacBook Pro M1 Pro & M1 Max!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I would be shocked if not within 2021, hang in there...
Probably right, although i remember someone at Avid saying that they'd have a fix for the video engine in Oct. 2021. Pipe dreams i guess.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 06:19 AM
any wabsite for apple accessories (international)& not apple.com sandman General Discussion 0 04-21-2001 07:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com