Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:58 AM
39lashesmedia 39lashesmedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Saint Petersburg
Posts: 9
Default Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback

Every now and then I get fuzzy/static noisy playback in my [mbox 3]Protools 8.0.5. sessions. When I change anything in my Set Up/ Playback Engine the noise will stop for 1-10 minutes and then it comes back. I can almost tell when it's about to creep in because it gives me crackling warnings. I must also add that I get this same sound outside of protools when I'm using the Mbox 3 as my default soundcard. I have only USB ports on my PC, I try to keep the Mbox's Usb in the same port because If I change ports prior to Protools launch it says "unable to locate hardware and yadayadayada, so I try to keep it in the same port. I've tried different headphones, different usb cables, and different Speaker monitors. I've did all the trouble shooting steps by trashing out preferences, digidesign database folders and etc. When i use my other Dell Laptop with XP I dont get this "fuzzy static" sound. Can it be something that Mbox not agreeing with in the Sony Vaio?

I'm using an external Lacie 1 TB firewire 7200 rpm for my playback and recording.


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Sony VPCF13YFX
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : 39LashesMedia
User : 39 Lashes Media

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz
Speed : 1.86GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Sony VAIO
BIOS : AMI (OEM) R0190Y9 10/20/2010
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Sony Core (Clarksfield/Lynnfield) DMI
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)

Chipset
Model : Sony Core Mobile (Clarksfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.13GHz (4.26GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 665MHz (1.33GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905428-043A00LF 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905428-043A00LF 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96 SM5.0 1.12GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96SP 2C 1.12GHz, 1GB)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96SP 1.12GHz, 1GB)

Storage Devices
TOSHIBA MK6465GSXN (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 596GB (C:)
Optiarc DVD RW AD-7710H (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (C:) : 586GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK6465GSXN (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Recovery : 10GB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (Q:) : N/A
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ Optiarc DVD RW AD-7710H (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Sony PM55 LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : Sony P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Sony GF108 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Disk Controller : Sony P55/PM55/3400 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Sony PCIe SD/MMC Host Controller
Disk Controller : Sony PCIe SD/MMC Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Sony P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Sony P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Sony uPD720200 USB 3.0 Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Sony FireWire Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Marvell Yukon 88E8057 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) WiMAX 6250 (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6250 AGN (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 98%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:59 AM
39lashesmedia 39lashesmedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Saint Petersburg
Posts: 9
Default Re: Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback

Correction: I have only 2 USB ports, sorry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2011, 03:41 PM
paulwilks paulwilks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: England
Posts: 19
Default Re: Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback

Do you get an error message pop up? If so what are your playback engine settings?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2011, 06:41 PM
39lashesmedia 39lashesmedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Saint Petersburg
Posts: 9
Default Re: Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulwilks View Post
Do you get an error message pop up? If so what are your playback engine settings?
No "Error" pop up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 9.0.6 'static on playback' & no PT Headphone playback vcoad Windows 1 03-14-2013 05:09 PM
Playback Problem: Overpowering Static Noise: Pro Tools can not get playback fast enou JLue Pro Tools 9 1 08-04-2011 09:59 AM
Static "Playback" with Protools and Static "Playback" with windows files 39lashesmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-20-2011 06:57 AM
Fuzzy distortion on my playback. Help! halley362 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-21-2004 05:26 AM
Static on Playback (Protools 6.0, Mbox boatsinbottles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-18-2004 12:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com