Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2011, 12:29 PM
bluemix bluemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default SSL Alpha Link Madi AX and xtreme64 card

Avid apparently refuses to offer support for PT9. Awesome.

My firmware is up to date as are my drivers. SSL has assured me the issue is with PT9. I can't get a buffer setting below 64 or above 1024 regardless of sample rate. Everything else is working fine. What is going on? Have I set something up incorrectly or is Avid purposefully crippling 3rd party devices?

Please help. I cross graded from PT LE8 in November and would really like to get this setup working optimally.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2011, 04:12 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: SSL Alpha Link Madi AX and xtreme64 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemix View Post
Avid apparently refuses to offer support for PT9. Awesome.

My firmware is up to date as are my drivers. SSL has assured me the issue is with PT9. I can't get a buffer setting below 64 or above 1024 regardless of sample rate. Everything else is working fine. What is going on? Have I set something up incorrectly or is Avid purposefully crippling 3rd party devices?

Please help. I cross graded from PT LE8 in November and would really like to get this setup working optimally.

Thanks.
FWIW that seems very normal to me. The buffer settings are dependent on the hardware attached. So far I've not heard of many 3rd party interfaces working at a buffer lower than 64 samples with pt9. It may have to do with the software, but it's like that for most 3rd party devices.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2011, 06:13 PM
bluemix bluemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: SSL Alpha Link Madi AX and xtreme64 card

Thanks for the response.

I'm actually worried less about the 64 buffer setting than I am the 1024. Why would PT9 limit an increased buffer setting? I was able to get 2048 with my 002...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2011, 07:22 PM
Goldencd Goldencd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 104
Default Re: SSL Alpha Link Madi AX and xtreme64 card

Dumb question.. But why would you want higher than 1024?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2011, 07:23 PM
Goldencd Goldencd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 104
Default Re: SSL Alpha Link Madi AX and xtreme64 card

That setup at 256 will run laps around your LE setup at a 508983993884 buffer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 and SSL X Logic Alpha Link Madi AX Basslab macOS 0 01-25-2013 10:07 AM
HDX Madi with SSL Alpha-Link AX sammyfarr Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 08-11-2012 05:11 PM
PT 10 + SSL Alpha-Link Madi-AX and MIDI bfire Pro Tools 10 1 01-14-2012 05:42 PM
does Alpha-link Madi works with PT9? coloquinte Pro Tools 9 21 07-12-2011 12:09 AM
HD PCIe with SSL Delta link MADI HD Alpha link MADI AX Juraj Bernáth Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-10-2009 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com