Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2006, 06:42 AM
www.Silentservice.de www.Silentservice.de is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 4
Default New Magma PCIe to PCI Chassis

just seen that the Magma PCIe to PCI expansion chassis is available now. Is there any clue if this chassis will be supported by Digidesign?

There´s one main problem, Logic 7.2 is currently NOT working with the DigidesignHD Expansion Chassis (Configuration: G5 Quad 2.5 PCIe, DigidesignHD Expansion Chassis, HD4 Accel, running Apple Logic 7.2) while ProTools is running fine. Maybe we can get a statement why this is the case and what needs to be fixed to get this working?

Due to the reason that the DigidesignHD expansion connects to the host via ethernet maybe there´s the possibility to get the HD expansion working with the internal ethernet port on e.g. a MacBook Pro in the future? Just speculations...
__________________
SYS64738
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:01 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: New Magma PCIe to PCI Chassis

Um, Logic 7.2 works fine here with the ExpHD and Quad 2.5. What doesn't work is ESB functionality, or Direct TDM. But Logic otherwise operates fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2006, 12:44 AM
www.Silentservice.de www.Silentservice.de is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Magma PCIe to PCI Chassis

Exactly, ESB and EXS24 is not working. I use Logic for doing arrangements with many virtual instruments. If you want to use AU instruments there would only be the way to add another audio card and use DAE + CORE AUDIO drivers at once. That not the most elegant style.
I also had problems using the HD system together with a RME madi card (connection to Neve Capricorn), we had poor track count (60 tracks DAE + CORE AUDIO together!) and many crashes.

What is your configuration or recommendation for the above mentioned problems?
__________________
SYS64738
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: HD2 PCI-x in a Magma 2-slot chassis with PCIe card Justin1524 Buy & Sell 5 11-29-2013 02:09 PM
FS: Magma PE6R4 chassis w/ cable and PCIe control card WildHoney Buy & Sell 1 10-06-2013 03:28 PM
Magma Chassis host card - which PCIe slot? Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-07-2012 10:54 PM
PCI HD Accel cards, Magma pci chassis and newer PCIe Macs CD Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2008 09:03 AM
Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-27-2008 03:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com