Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:28 AM
Fishbone Fishbone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Brazil
Posts: 32
Default copy or duplicate midi parts crashes PT MP 7.1/7.3

Hi,

It's just me or there is a nasty bug on PT 7.1/7.3 that prevents any copy/paste operation with MIDI parts?

When I use MIDI drum tracks, I like to work first with a small pattern until it is perfect, then use it as a model and duplicate and/or copy it all across the track. Since I upgraded to PT MP 7.1(then 7.1.1 and cs10), Protools freezes everytime I copy or duplicate MIDI parts, the beachball shows up for about 10 secs than it crashes nastly. Upgraded to 7.3 and the problem remains.

The only solution so far is to select the MIDI parts with the grabber tool than use the option(mac) key to create and drag a copy of the selected notes to the desired position on the track. But this is big pain in the ass, especialy when I work with long songs.

Note that I use the select tool to mark the bars I want to copy on the MIDI track(including MIDI notes and empty spaces), since it's easier to place(or replace) it that way. Since I dont use MIDI very often, I'm not excluding the possibility of doing something wrong here, so any word on that matter will be greatly appreciated.

iMac G5 1.6, 2G RAM, OS 10.4.8, M-audio Firewire 1814 with latest drivers(1.8.1).

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:35 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: copy or duplicate midi parts crashes PT MP 7.1/7.3

No problems here - have you tried trashing preferences yet?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2007, 12:56 PM
Fishbone Fishbone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Brazil
Posts: 32
Default Re: copy or duplicate midi parts crashes PT MP 7.1/7.3


Yes, I did trash preferences, but it didnt solve the problem.

Since I was planning a maintenance reinstaling of all my system, I reformated my Protools partition and reinstaled everything from scratch and now everything seems to work fine.

Anyway, thanks digi techsupport for the prompt response.

Peace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Editor Copy/Duplicate Leaves off Notes anackman macOS 2 10-11-2012 10:31 AM
Strange problem with audio/midi tracks after copy/duplicate Nullfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-25-2011 08:17 PM
Smile Strange problem with audio/midi tracks after copy/duplicate Nullfusion Pro Tools 9 1 09-16-2011 05:35 PM
Bug when i duplicate parts.. montreal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 97 04-02-2010 01:07 PM
midi copy/duplicate: 7.4 can't grab 1st quantized note glankrudolph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-16-2008 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com