Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2012, 06:03 AM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Hi everyone.

I just started getting this error over the past couple of days.

The audio device buffer underflowed. If this occurs frequently, try decreasing the H/W buffer size in the playback engine panelr or remove other devices from the audio firewire bus. (-6085)

Im running Pro tools 9.02 ( reason being having performance issues with later patches on my gigabyte motherboard ) with an mbox2 mini USB. Installed on my C drive. All Pro tools sessions and my audio loops are on my D drive.

I have tried changing the buffer size. Ive run all the windows 7 optimizations from the avid support site.

I have deleted the DB and preferences.

I have changed USB ports.

I have disabled network adaptors.

Disabled indexing on drives.

Defragged both hard drives.

I recently updated to Service pack 1

I nailed down the error on one of my sessions that when playback is on loop and the second playback begins it will cause the error 2 or 3 seconds into second round of the loop playback..

On another session it wont even playback 2 seconds.

My CPU RTAS activity is at 26%


I can skip the error and keep on working but it comes back and its very irritating.

Thanks for reading.



SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Defone-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : GigaByte EX58-UD3R
Chassis : GigaByte Desktop
Mainboard : GigaByte EX58-UD3R
BIOS : Award (OEM) FI 03/11/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (4C 8T 2.8GHz/2.93GHz Turbo, 2.13GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)

Chipset
Memory Controller : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz) FSB
Memory Controller : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz) FSB, 3x 2GB DIMM DDR3 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-16000CL9-2GBTD 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-16000U DDR3-2000 (9-9-9-24 4-33-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-16000CL9-2GBTD 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-16000U DDR3-2000 (9-9-9-24 4-33-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-16000CL9-2GBTD 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-16000U DDR3-2000 (9-9-9-24 4-33-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (1600 SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.8GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (1600 SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.8GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (1600 SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.8GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (1600SP 20C 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.8GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series (1600SP 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4.8GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
Hitachi HDT721032SLA360 (320.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 15MB Cache) : 298GB (D:)
WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0 (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 699GB (C:)
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-216 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (C:) : 699GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA0 (750.2GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
New Volume (D:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT721032SLA360 (320.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 15MB Cache)
Floppy Disk (A:) : N/A
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-216 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 64kB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : ATI (AMD) Cypress HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Giga-Byte TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2012, 06:31 AM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,072
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Wish I had something to offer. I ran a nearly identical machine for over a year without ever seeing that error. The only major difference was I ran an nVidia graphics card. Does it happen with a new session, or only with older sessions? Did you check your system tweaks AFTER the SP1 update(the update may have reset some things)? How well was it working before this error started popping up?

I would try disabling this:
Audio Device : ATI (AMD) Cypress HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
and maybe this:
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
since RAID is not supported with Pro Tools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2012, 07:44 PM
mbahnmil mbahnmil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: US
Posts: 66
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

... what interface and driver are you using? (I'm curious because I'm getting the same issue, but I have a theory.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:19 AM
Ralf_T Ralf_T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 95
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

As albee1952 already mentioned, RAID is not supported with Pro Tools. Disc controller should be set to AHCI.
Your graphics card is not qualified (see here for details: http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380591)

Are you using the SansAmp plugin on any of your tracks? If so, do load the dither plugin in front of the SansAmp plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2012, 09:41 AM
mbahnmil mbahnmil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: US
Posts: 66
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

So... with myself, I'm using the MBox 3, and this happens when I use the standard Windows driver provided by (Avid?/Digidesign?). However... when I switch to using the ASIO4ALL driver, I don't have the issue.

This kind of stinks because the standard driver allows me to use Pro Tools without hijacking my sound - so I can also listen to YouTube or iTunes, etc, outside of Pro Tools. Not so with the ASIO4ALL....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:46 PM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralf_T View Post
As albee1952 already mentioned, RAID is not supported with Pro Tools. Disc controller should be set to AHCI.
Your graphics card is not qualified (see here for details: http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=380591)

Are you using the SansAmp plugin on any of your tracks? If so, do load the dither plugin in front of the SansAmp plugin.
Im not running any RAID. Should I change my drives to AHCI. Can I do that in BIOS?

Wow graphics card not qualified. WIll have to look at that one.

And yes I do use SANSAMP. One of my fav plug ins. I will try Dither in front of it.

For now I have disabled error messaging. So now the error doesnt pop up but get quite alot of popping, crackling and artifacting with certain audio.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:49 PM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbahnmil View Post
... what interface and driver are you using? (I'm curious because I'm getting the same issue, but I have a theory.)
Im using MBOX 2 mini. with 140 firmware. I cant update the firmware to 143 as the updater will not work. Im using driver 9.0.2.65
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:11 PM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Oh fantastic news. I need to reformat to get AHCI enabled. Oh I love reformatting. LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:12 PM
kinems kinems is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mlebourne
Posts: 15
Default Re: The Audio Device buffer underflowed (-6085)

Oh and thankyou for the replies people. I really do appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The audio device buffer underflowed (-6085) - Was working fine yesterday Silverwolf90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-02-2011 05:21 PM
error (-6085) audio device buffer underflowed litlounge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-15-2011 07:31 PM
Error 6085 Audio device buffer underflowed m.palius Windows 5 04-03-2011 03:53 PM
Audio Device Underflowed-6085 Stay Simple Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-02-2007 05:12 PM
"Audio Device Underflowed-6085" Stay Simple 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-28-2007 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com