Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:08 PM
wolfdavis wolfdavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 106
Default The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

Hello all.
I have an interesting new problem with the ProControl and Latch Mode.
I have unofficially titled it "The Gravity Effect."
Here's what happens... When in latch mode, I write some automation data to any of the eight faders on the ProControl and the faders drop in level all of thier own accord. Sometimes they drop just a little lower than last touch, sometimes almost to nill on the fader. (It looks as if Gravity is working on the faders, but it is an obvious motor function.)
Also in Latch mode if I move the fader down after moving it up there is no "gravity effect," it maintains it's position.
I have since taken the PC board appart and cleaned all the contacts of the faders controls and the control board as well as any other connections that are made to that control surface. No change.

I am wondering if this is a sign of the D-command, and icon series winning out on some programing or if this is a sign of a bad controller. Has anyone else ever seen this problem?

I have been told this was a problem in 6.9 as well, however I personally never saw the problem.
Still baffled.
Thanks!
Justin
RMR

The system...
Pro Control, Edit Pack, 2xFader Packs
ProTools V7.1
2x192 I/O
Sync I/O
E-Magic Unitor 8
G4 dual 1.25
__________________
Justin Davis
Rocky Mountain Recorders
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:12 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

have you tried re-calibrating the faders?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:17 AM
wolfdavis wolfdavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 106
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

Yes, I have tried recalibrating the faders. There was no change in the function of the faders.
Thanks for the thought! Anyone else have something I could look into?
__________________
Justin Davis
Rocky Mountain Recorders
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:39 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

Just out of curiosity, what is your back tension set to?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:05 PM
wolfdavis wolfdavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 106
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

A very good question... I don't even know where to find a back tension setting on the PC... Can you direct me?
Still having the problem.
Justin
__________________
Justin Davis
Rocky Mountain Recorders
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:46 AM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

Utility>Prefs>Fader
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2006, 02:56 PM
wolfdavis wolfdavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 106
Default Re: The \"Gravity Effect\" in Latch Mode.

Thanks I'll give it a shot and edit this post...


Alright... No difference with the back tension changes. With all levels of back tension it still drops.
Weird huh?
Anything else to check?
__________________
Justin Davis
Rocky Mountain Recorders
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch/Latch mode 003 bassmonsta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-19-2012 08:23 AM
Latch Mode not working/sporadic AudioMaster Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 05-26-2009 05:50 PM
red line in auto latch mode question tomcat Post - Surround - Video 4 12-13-2006 10:25 AM
'Latch' Talkback Mode steve m soundworks ICON & C|24 2 03-28-2005 05:43 AM
Switching to Latch mode after AutoWrite... GVDB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-26-2004 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com