Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2018, 11:03 AM
sleeplessoasis sleeplessoasis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

Hi All,
Just wondering where exactly I should post my question as it covers multiple topics and crosses hardware and software. Don't want to post in the wrong thread and annoy people unintentionally, and waste the post itself obviously!
Post / questions...

I have a 2010 iMac (Yosemite 10.9.5, 3.06 core 2 duo, 8GB Ram), a Digidesign 003 Factory, and running Pro-tools LE 8 (8.0.4) with one 3rd party plugin (EZ Drummer).
I'm aware that this setup is getting a little long in the tooth and, although it's still running perfectly fine, I would like some advice on the best / most cost-effective upgrade options available to me. I'm not looking to expand the setup any further, I'm just aware that if I go higher than Yosemite it's highly likely Pro-tools wont work properly anymore, from what I've read anyway!

Initial questions are;
Can I just upgrade straight to Pro-tools 12 and run it on the iMac and use the 003 with it?
If yes, can I also then open PT LE8 sessions on the new PT12?


Thanks in advance for any helpful replies.
Cheers,
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2018, 05:03 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

I would recommend going down the "Pro Tools Software Mac" section
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2018, 05:37 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,587
Default Re: In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

Moved.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2018, 07:51 AM
Nik Gambara Nik Gambara is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Default Re: In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleeplessoasis View Post
Hi All,
Just wondering where exactly I should post my question as it covers multiple topics and crosses hardware and software. Don't want to post in the wrong thread and annoy people unintentionally, and waste the post itself obviously!
Post / questions...

I have a 2010 iMac (Yosemite 10.9.5, 3.06 core 2 duo, 8GB Ram), a Digidesign 003 Factory, and running Pro-tools LE 8 (8.0.4) with one 3rd party plugin (EZ Drummer).
I'm aware that this setup is getting a little long in the tooth and, although it's still running perfectly fine, I would like some advice on the best / most cost-effective upgrade options available to me. I'm not looking to expand the setup any further, I'm just aware that if I go higher than Yosemite it's highly likely Pro-tools wont work properly anymore, from what I've read anyway!

Initial questions are;
Can I just upgrade straight to Pro-tools 12 and run it on the iMac and use the 003 with it?
If yes, can I also then open PT LE8 sessions on the new PT12?


Thanks in advance for any helpful replies.
Cheers,
Phil
Ciao Phil
i wouldn't reccomend to upgrade to PT 12 because it's a different beast for your imac, first you need tu up the ram to 16g minimum, obviously you should upgrade the mac os x, i had ez drummer 2 and couldn't upgrade to 3 (aax) but you had to pay for the new one (maybe now it's changed) and then your 003 could suffer for error -6101, i own a 003 with macbook pro and sometimes during recording stops with that error (wi-fi off and bluetooth off and all the things set right)
If you want pt 12 (that i reccomend ) you need a different mac and maybe a new audio interface
nik
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2018, 04:30 AM
sleeplessoasis sleeplessoasis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

Hi Nik,
Many thanks for your reply. Unfortunately if I upgrade to PT12, change my iMac and get a new audio interface I think that would result in the least cost-effective option! lol I'll keep thinking about it and see what other options might be suitable.
Thanks,
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2018, 04:32 AM
sleeplessoasis sleeplessoasis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: In which forum thread do I post my Pro-tools based question?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A simple PC based PT10 system for post (only)? philper Post - Surround - Video 2 03-02-2012 05:55 AM
Who moved the 'Latest stuff' thread to the General Discussion forum? Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-15-2010 06:34 PM
Putting together an LE based post system, how do these specs look to you? diamondschwin Post - Surround - Video 17 10-06-2009 07:19 AM
Hopefully the last 9131 error thread on this forum d_hurst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-22-2008 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com