Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:05 AM
sleeplessoasis sleeplessoasis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default 003 Factory, new iMac and an external firewire drive....

Hi I wonder if anyone could help me with something...
Im thinking of purchasing a new iMac (the cheapest one Apple do, £950 ish). Im also going to buy the 003 Factory desktop mixer bundled with Pro Tools LE 8. From some research about other peoples setups Ive realised I will also need an external drive to save all my track data to. Ive also found out it needs to be a drive with firewire connections and that it gets daisy chained between the iMac and the 003. The new iMac has firewire 800 and the 003 has firewire 400 connections.
What I need to know and dont quite understand is 1. Why do I need to do this, why cant I just save my tracks to the internal drive on the iMac? And secondly, if I do go via an external firewire drive, how does that all connect up exactly? Do I have to find a drive that has 2 firewire 400 ports on it, one that goes to the 003 and one going to the iMac? Or have I got that bit completely wrong? Does anyone else have this setup?

Help please Im confused how this is supposed to work!!!
Cheers

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2009, 12:50 PM
oulablank oulablank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 300
Default Re: 003 Factory, new iMac and an external firewire drive....

Pro tools and plug ins tend to be cpu hogs so if your session is on your internal drive as well it will really slow down / screw up your performance . A dedicated drive will alleviate this . I have an imac and what i do is plug a 400 cable from my 002 directly to my imac 400 port. Then I plug my external hard drive directly to my imac 800 port with an 800 cable. From there I just daisy chain my drives with the 800. Like you mentioned , you could have the hard drive in between the 003 and the cpu but I prefer to keep them separate .Whatever you do , make sure that you do not plug your external hard drive into the 2nd 400 port on the 003.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2009, 06:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,169
Default Re: 003 Factory, new iMac and an external firewire drive....

Personally, I would skip the "factory" and get the 003 and put the money towards a faster iMac and go with 4 gig or RAM. Then get a simple FW800-FW400 cable to attach the drive and daisy-chain with FW400 to the 003. Assuming these guys ship overseas:
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firew...W800_FW400_USB
look down the right side column for drives with 2 FW400 ports to make daisy-chaining easy.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2009, 06:17 PM
fooloof fooloof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Default Re: 003 Factory, new iMac and an external firewire drive....

Digidesign does not support systems where the PT sound files are stored on the computer's hard drive. Most, if not all of what I'm going to say is found in the following link:

READ THIS!!!!

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=54888

From what I've been told (reading message boards, consulting with knowledgeable people), the hard drive is only for your applications (Pro Tools, Reason, Ableton, etc.), while all of your audio files are to be saved on a secondary hard drive. And you should also get an additional hard drive to back up the first external drive (in other words, two external hard drives).

It's important to get a drive with the Oxford 911 or 912 chipsets. I have a Glyph, which is supported by Digidesign.

RAM is very important for your computer. Get as much RAM as you can afford. Also, Digidesign instructs users of the 003 to NOT put another drive between it and the computer (it's in the manual).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Avid recommend external USB over external Firewire for audio drive? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 10 03-29-2012 09:39 PM
iMac, M-Box 2 Pro, External Hard Drive pearl_drummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-14-2010 02:07 AM
Recommend Firewire external drive for iMac jiagap 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 22 02-03-2010 08:12 AM
External hard drive for iMac? cellarman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-20-2006 05:33 PM
USB external drive and iMac rickf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-11-2006 07:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com