Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2000, 01:32 PM
Sound Works UK Sound Works UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Posts: 7
Default Digidesign Control Panel probs..

If I set my Mac output to 'Digidesign', ProTools can't grab the hardware when I launch. 'Hardware not installed or in use by another application' WHY?

G4/500 PT24Mix Mac OS 9.04

Thanks,
Simon.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2001, 04:25 PM
Jwinget Jwinget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Hills, CA 91307
Posts: 1
Default Re: Digidesign Control Panel probs..

I have the same problem on my new G4 466mhz with 512mb or ram, with Mixplus, Atto Card, and Miro DC30+ Is there a fix for this? My only solution is to reboot the computer!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2001, 04:25 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,642
Default Re: Digidesign Control Panel probs..

Remote access is the problem in my system. Everything is fine until I connect to the internet, after that I have to either switch to soundmanager in sound c.panel, or reinstall the system.

I think this is a known thing.

G4
9.02


------------------
Ben Jenssen
Honskogen Studio
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2001, 05:49 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Digidesign Control Panel probs..

I had this happen once. (9600/250 5.0.1 OS 9.0). I occasionally switch the Mac output to Digidesign with no problem, but usually switch it back before I shut down. A while back I left it set that way at shutdown. After restarting, Protools gave me that error, even after I switched the Mac sound back to internal...had to reboot.

Haven't tried to see if I can reproduce it.

Tom


------------------
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2001, 02:12 PM
PastaViking II PastaViking II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: next door...
Posts: 750
Default Re: Digidesign Control Panel probs..

Sounds perfectly right to me....

If Sound Manager is using your Digidesign interface, it's not available for DAE. DAE isn't a multitasking environment. Same problem if you use Peak or any other program that has a direct connection to the Digi hardware...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2001, 02:18 PM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Digidesign Control Panel probs..

Yes...but when I ran into this, even after closing all other apps and switching the sound back to internal, it thought it was in use and required a reboot. That doesn't sound right.

Tom
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for DIgidesign Control Panel version 1.4.1 franckboutet Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 03-19-2004 11:24 AM
Digidesign Control Panel...N/W on G3 LesPaul666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-05-2001 07:44 AM
Possible Digidesign Control Panel Conflicts? RobbaDobba Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-10-2000 09:24 AM
Digidesign Control Panel ... TCL Tips & Tricks 1 07-12-2000 08:25 AM
Digidesign Sound Control Panel Kenshiro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-07-2000 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com