Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-22-2022, 11:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,915
Default Re: ProTools HD Omni and Rupert Shelford Channel not getting enough gain

But this is triggering a memory for me about Omnis... but maybe TVPostSounds old posts. I don't have one in front of me and have not used one in a while. This needs to be carefully measured like TVPostSound is suggesting. Measure that sine wave with a quality RMS multimeter, measuring across the differential pair (not to signal ground).

Was this suspected to be a range of bad serial numbers Omni units?

Would help a lot to be absolutely clear what cables and inputs are being used. It's so easy to brain fark and say stick a TRS cable into the front panel DI input (I hate that's not a switchable TRS line input).... or find out you have a bad cable, maybe intermittently bad.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-02-2022, 04:06 PM
cristtiah cristtiah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 21
Default Re: ProTools HD Omni and Rupert Shelford Channel not getting enough gain

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Dont drive yourself crazy, there IS an issue with the line in on the Omni HD.
Ive brought it up here twice, emailed support no response from Avid.

The line in is shy by 8 to 12 dBs.
Tested with different mic pros and cables.
Then I used an oscillator as proof.

so you are saying all HD Omni has bad line inputs?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Pre-Amp Gain Not Working howardb Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 12-15-2020 06:54 PM
HD Omni line input gain adjustment bissodj Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 4 02-02-2014 02:00 AM
OMNI Preamp gain stargazer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 05-17-2012 12:43 PM
OMNI Preamp gain stargazer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-14-2012 02:59 PM
OMNI - "control-able mic gain? clusterer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-24-2011 02:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com