Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2010, 12:58 AM
RBp RBp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: DMV
Posts: 81
Default 8.04 Strange Problem

All,

I installed the 8.04 update and everything went fine at first, then when i was editing a project the project got stuck in a loop and would not come out of that loop.

to be more specific: I had an audio track expanded whilst having a portion of an audio file highlighted. Protools started acting erratic and would not allow me to de-expand or expand (shift + right bracket) the project nor would it stop playback while it was in its loop.

then an "audio exception" error occured, the system locked up for about 3 seconds and rebooted. up until this upgrade this system has worked flawlessly and runs superfast so i can only assume it was the upgrade that caused the problem.


Sorry i dont have the exact error message and code that was put out to the screen, i have been trying to see if i could duplicate the problem but i have not had any luck. These are the specs of this machine which i really do not use much. ( This machine has Waves Mercury on it, so until i get Waves for Mac i will use this as a mixing system)

Protools MP 8.04
Dell GX280, 3ghz Processor HT Technology , 4GB Ram
2 500 GB Barracuda HD's
NVIDIA 256 Graphics Accel.
Audiophile 24/96


This is why i run Mac. !



just though i would share.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2010, 11:08 AM
richie richie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: 8.04 Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by RBp View Post
i have been trying to see if i could duplicate the problem but i have not had any luck.
I don't think any software / hardware combination is guaranteed against one-off glitches. If you can't duplicate the problem then I'd say you have had some luck :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2010, 05:56 PM
RBp RBp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: DMV
Posts: 81
Default Re: 8.04 Strange Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie View Post
I don't think any software / hardware combination is guaranteed against one-off glitches. If you can't duplicate the problem then I'd say you have had some luck :)

True
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange problem HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-13-2010 09:01 AM
strange problem help koka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-16-2008 02:57 PM
strange problem Tuur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-14-2006 04:20 PM
Strange Problem... Zetajazz44 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-13-2005 10:08 PM
strange 001 problem Robocop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-14-2003 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com