Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2010, 04:59 PM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default strange problem

ok, for some odd reason, i cannot access my add or remove programs, program from the control panel.

i click it, it pops up, nothing loads under currently installed programs.

it just says please wait while the list is being populated.

now i have quite a bit of stuff installed on here.

but not THAT much....


what im trying to do, is uninstall then reinstall my Zune software. cause its not functioning properly.

but. i cant uninstall it through the program folder, since it has no uninstaller, and i cant go through add or remove programs, cause its not loading...
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2010, 05:40 PM
Jenk2k Jenk2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 468
Default Re: strange problem

Windows is corrupt. It's time to back up your stuff immediately and reinstall windows. (no I'm not joking)

It's only a matter of time before something more drastic than just add/remove programs getting hosed happens.
__________________
We don't have the user centricity. Until we understand context, which is way beyond presence — presence is the most trivial notion, just am I on this device or not; it doesn't say am I meeting with something, am I focused on writing something. [LIST][*]Bill Gates .NET Briefing Day Speech (24 July 2002)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2010, 06:05 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: strange problem

Yeah thatz def a OS/Comp problem much more than a PT prob...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2010, 06:57 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,449
Default Re: strange problem

Last time I had that issue, it was a trojan or virus and it took a lot of work(and cursing) to clean up the mess(actually it took reformatting and restoring from a drive image)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2010, 02:20 AM
HDK_Ent HDK_Ent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFV, CA
Posts: 206
Default Re: strange problem

so should i back up? or make a clone image... reinstall and pull the clone off?
__________________
DVERB Test 306

i7 920 2.66,
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R,
6 GB Corsair XMS3 Ram,
WD 500GB 7200 rpm HD,
WD 750GB 7200 rpm HD,
MBox 2 Mini, PT LE 8,
Axiom 49 Midi Controller,
Akai MPK 61 Midi Controller,
AKG C-414 Microphone.

Wish List: 2 Months.
Digi 003 BLA Mod,

MBP i5, 2.53 Ghz, 4GB of ram, 320GB internal, 500GB External Firewire, Waves Mercury,

Dverb Test - 156

"How you gon' do an 'Intro' to an 'Outro'?"
-Steezy on "Goodbye" By Spliit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:05 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: strange problem

Won't matter; it'd be the same either or so just whichever u choose...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:19 AM
MikeLip MikeLip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 639
Default Re: strange problem

Control Panel gone is a virus (99%). Backup data. Expect to be reformatting system drive.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2010, 08:27 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,671
Default Re: strange problem

I wouldn't clone if you may already have a virus. As it would probably get carried over, if in fact the clone worked. Usually this sort of thing knocks out all major windows functions eventually. Better to just back up you important data and do a complete reinstall. I have had this happen a few times.

And when you are back up and running Clone the drive right away.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2010, 09:01 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,449
Default Re: strange problem

Yes, for those watching with curiosity, the time to clone is when the system is freshly loaded, and then when you have had solid stability and performance for a month.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8.04 Strange Problem RBp Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-21-2010 05:56 PM
strange problem help koka Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-16-2008 02:57 PM
strange problem Tuur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-14-2006 04:20 PM
Strange Problem... Zetajazz44 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-13-2005 10:08 PM
strange 001 problem Robocop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-14-2003 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com