Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2008, 06:15 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,351
Default Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

On an audio track I have an effect send on a bus routed to an Aux track with Delay instatiated. When I click on that send bus and look at the fader box, I understand the panning, fader and all that. However, the mute feature doesn't seem to make sense, especially when I look at in Track View. It appears you can automate the mute feature like any other feature. But how does adjusting the level of mute differ from automating the fader send itself? I can understand placing full on mutes for an effect at musically strategic places in the time line of the track, leaving the overall level alone. But when would you automate and vary the mute level and why? That doesn't make sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2008, 06:42 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 561
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

Is your question about the control functionality or why it is automatable?

It's just another control you can use. For example, if your send levels are set, you can mute portions of it, having those levels still if you later decide to use them. It's there, but it's mute, just about the same reason why you have mute on tracks and regions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2008, 08:10 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,848
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

Well said. remember that MUTE is a simple on or off function. There is no halfway with it. Automating the MUTE on an aux send is handy for things like sending a single word or phrase to an effect instead of the entire track.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2008, 11:07 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,351
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

That's kinda what I thought.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2008, 04:05 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,384
Default just me?...

or something phishy about the above poster?

edit: note to donaldm; don't go wahlberg on me, the above poster got ixnay'd
__________________
ihatetyping

Last edited by elicious; 10-19-2008 at 06:49 PM. Reason: breaking nooz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2008, 08:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,848
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

I already reported him/her/it to Digi support. Its just a sales scam to get us to go buy shoes. He/she uses several different names and never has any technical verbage in the posts.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:04 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 561
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I already reported him/her/it to Digi support. Its just a sales scam to get us to go buy shoes. He/she uses several different names and never has any technical verbage in the posts.
.."interesting and informative", oh yeah. I thought, Are youu kidding? So now he's flushed.

... sh**, forget to note that link! Need new shoes!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2008, 10:11 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,351
Default Re: just me?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
or something phishy about the above poster?
guess I missed something!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:22 AM
SeedGuy SeedGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 416
Default Re: just me?...

Yea, dodgy post which has now been deleted.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2008, 05:05 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,848
Default Re: Understanding the Mute control on an effect send

Actually several posts, all with similar ambiguous statements, the same link to shoe sales and any of several different names. I guess they chose to ignore the rule about solicitations on the DUC. Thanks to the administrator for such a quick "takedown". The WWE would be proud.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Send mute/solo follows track mute/solo pre-fader Roger_Jam_Jet Windows 3 09-24-2017 01:59 PM
Artist Control - Send Mute Bug markuse Artist Series 2 06-19-2014 09:19 AM
shortcut to see send mute automation-gone? mtung ICON & C|24 7 07-14-2009 09:11 AM
how to mute a send on 003 console kt90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-03-2009 11:29 AM
Send Mute on Digi002? KingTor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-26-2009 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com