Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2022, 01:39 PM
rwear01 rwear01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Canoga Park
Posts: 1
Default Digidesign Midi I/O

Hi- I have a old Digidesign Midi I/O (blue and silver rack mount) that I'm trying to show up in Audio Midi setup in my new Mac Studio. I no longer use ProTools and was trying to find an installer for the midi I/O interface. Is this just way too old to work or is there a way to add it to Audio Midi setup manually? (seems adding an external device is always a synth). Frustrating because when I plug in the USB all the lights flash as though it wants to work!

Thanks for any help!
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2022, 02:21 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,820
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Last I heard the driver never made it through the 64 bit transition. You might need to start looking for a new MIDI interface.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2022, 04:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,767
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

I will ask Avid as soon as possible (probably monday) when tech is back about this but I think that these older drivers for the gear is not working on latest 2 or more macOS versions. However a real insanely gifted friend and myself made our own drivers for our 4 old M-Audio 8x8 midi (blue with the yellow text design) units that stopped working when PT11 came and it was the same problem with 32 bit vs 64 bit but we wrote new drivers ourselves and they still run as new on our Macs today. So we are in testing phase with the drivers and a few tweaks inside for the MIDI i/o as we both paid lots for ours new and feel that they ”should” keep going if we can use them and not just as a doorstop or a book stop so IF this is as some think regarding the bit issues and no updated drivers from Avid PM me in start of october as we need a little testing with real synths before I can help when we know that this works 100%

I have had too much productions that has to be done for pretty big names this summer so I have not had time to follow up what I need to add if any to get it working as my friend has probably come some ways the past months I hope as I did a lot early spring before he took over.

I will talk to the Avid techs and ask what is the plans for MIDi i/o and post back asap / Best Christophe
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2023, 02:16 PM
original_min original_min is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 198
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
I will ask Avid as soon as possible (probably monday) when tech is back about this but I think that these older drivers for the gear is not working on latest 2 or more macOS versions. However a real insanely gifted friend and myself made our own drivers for our 4 old M-Audio 8x8 midi (blue with the yellow text design) units that stopped working when PT11 came and it was the same problem with 32 bit vs 64 bit but we wrote new drivers ourselves and they still run as new on our Macs today. So we are in testing phase with the drivers and a few tweaks inside for the MIDI i/o as we both paid lots for ours new and feel that they ”should” keep going if we can use them and not just as a doorstop or a book stop so IF this is as some think regarding the bit issues and no updated drivers from Avid PM me in start of october as we need a little testing with real synths before I can help when we know that this works 100%

I have had too much productions that has to be done for pretty big names this summer so I have not had time to follow up what I need to add if any to get it working as my friend has probably come some ways the past months I hope as I did a lot early spring before he took over.

I will talk to the Avid techs and ask what is the plans for MIDi i/o and post back asap / Best Christophe
This sounds cool. Very interested to know if you made any progress?
:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2023, 02:51 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,310
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by original_min View Post
This sounds cool. Very interested to know if you made any progress?
:)

+1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
~ 2019 Rack Mac Pro 3.2 GHz 16 core 384 GB RAM Catalina 10.15.7 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.0 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO+QUAD / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Digidesign Pre's x 3 / Avid S6 M10-24 -V22.12.1.34 ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / Magma PE6R4 ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2023, 06:57 AM
CMG CMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

+1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2023, 07:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,767
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Sorry for the wait. Will ask again and post back asap.

Thanks guys
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2023, 09:31 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phoenix or SLC
Posts: 558
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Sorry for the wait. Will ask again and post back asap.

Thanks guys
Put me on the list of interested!

What is the last OS that they work on without a possible driver replacement?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2023, 04:59 AM
buddhaburger buddhaburger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Location: Bangkok - Thailand
Posts: 13
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

+1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-26-2023, 11:04 AM
ProTools4's Avatar
ProTools4 ProTools4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Orange, Ca, USA
Posts: 391
Default Re: Digidesign Midi I/O

+1
__________________
NotoriouSS Tad
PT 2023 HDX3 maxed system 7,1 Rack Mac Pro
PT 5.1.3 OS9 maxed system G4 1.33
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
digidesign midi i/o raye1300 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 02-15-2023 05:52 PM
PT 11.3 - Yosemite - Digidesign Midi IO - can't play midi in PT Puresonics Pro Tools 11 10 03-19-2018 09:48 PM
FS: Digidesign MIDI $225 Phil Pelissier Buy & Sell 0 03-12-2014 03:50 PM
The new Digidesign midi I/O Everything Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-01-2002 08:35 AM
Digidesign MIDI I/O™ Baba Omar Jun Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-28-2002 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com