Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 10-16-2003, 10:32 AM

Default Rubber Soul

Hi, do you guys know what kind of reverb/ambience is used on vocals of the Beatles Rubber Soul album? Is there any plugin that will give you a convincing sound like that on PT? See, I'm not experienced enough to figure that out. Thanks.
Old 10-16-2003, 05:22 PM

Default Re: Rubber Soul

Hi tucum,

Interesting question, considering that Rubber Soul was probably the 'driest' of any Beatles album.

Actually, when Rubber Soul was first released in 1965, the "reverbs" were actual different sized rooms that had been set up with reverberant materials such as sewer pipes! I believe that Abbey Road studios had three of these "echo chambers." The signal was 'sent' to the chamber through speakers, the reverb was picked up by mics in the chamber, then the reverb was 'returned' to the mixing console through a patchbay. They also had a way of delaying the signal going into the chambers by using a spare tape deck.

When Beatles producer George Martin remixed Rubber Soul for CD in 1987, he used digital reverbs to approximate the original reverbs. (The echo chambers had been dismantled and converted into office space. In the early '90's, during the 'Anthology' project, echo chamber 2 was rebuilt, but to my ears doesn't sound the same. (To hear what the original number 2 sounded like, listen to the handclaps in the intro to "Why Don't We Do It In The Road." from the 'White Album')).