Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 08-14-2021, 09:54 PM

Default Can't find I/O for USB mic

I am a rank beginner, so please excuse any weird terminology-

I have a Mackie EM-91CU USB mic set up in the MacBook Pro midi Control center as the input device (and a pair of Mackie bluetooth monitors for output.).

I created an audio file in ProTool First, and imported an mp3 as a track I want to add some things to - which is why I did not use a template. It plays fine.

I created an audio track to record on thru the USB mic, which appears as the input device in hardware setup.

But can''t find any way to assign that mic to the audio track. "I/O" for the track says "no input", and if I click input I get a huge list of "bus" numbers...none of which seem to have anything to do with the input mic. I've looked in the edit window, mix window - there's nothing that makes sense to me, and the button identification is confusing. I can't find a "map" that explains what each item in each widow does either..and being new to this it's all unfamiliar (my recording experience is limited to playing in studios with engineers handling things - and at home, 4 track cassette and reel to reel recording.)

I'm looking for documentation that I can refer back to - not videos, which are "random access" (i.e. having to remember exactly where on which video some tidbit of info is on).

in other words - I actually RTFM. But I can't find any manual, and help files bounce from subject to subject without any linearity or logical order.

Anyway - right now I'd like to be able "turn the mic on". It works great in Audacity, but in ProTools First it seems to be buried somewhere under piles of unfamiliar jargon.