Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2021, 05:31 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 21
Default OMF AAF Volume Automation

Avid state that "AAF is the new format and contains more information than the OMF. OMF loses the volume automation and names of the tracks when exporting and importing from one application to another. AAF retains the volume automation and the track names"
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...S/FAQ/en331113

I’ve had been using OMF for decades prior to the AAF.
The volume automation has always transferred from FCP into Protools using OMFs.

Why does all Avid/Protools affiliated sites state this when i have OMF sessions from over 10 years ago that proves to me that OMFs do transfer volume automation?
Other non avid related sites support my claim.

Here's an example i made
https://vimeo.com/619438950/bc308f8092

I'd really like to find out why this is Avid's take on it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2021, 02:16 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 778
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

That document is from 2009. How important is this issue to you? This is a user forum so don't expect an answer from Avid here.

OMF is long dead. There were limitations on automation and clip data depending on the source program. I believe Pro Tools itself would not export volume automation in an OMF.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2021, 02:22 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 21
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
That document is from 2009.
It was incorrect in 2009, it still is in 2021.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
How important is this issue to you?
what does it matter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
This is a user forum so don't expect an answer from Avid here.
I'm not new to the subject, I've been a member here since 2002 and been using protools since 1994.
I've often seen Avid representatives responding in the DUC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
OMF is long dead.
That may well be how it is for yourself and many others.
However, I still receive OMF's from film makers who haven't upgraded from FCP7, so for them OMF is very much alive.

Mike Thornton recently did a piece on ProTools Expert stating the differences between AAF & OMF, while quoting from the 2009 document line that OMFs don't transfer automation. It's alive enough for him to talk about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
There were limitations on automation and clip data depending on the source program. I believe Pro Tools itself would not export volume automation in an OMF.
Yes there are many limitations of automation with OMF transfer.
AAF's also have limitations and react differently when importing into PT depending on the NLE & version it was created in.
Exporting an OMF from PT is not something I consider, as its not part of my workflows.

I'm referring to importing an OMF (created in an NLE like FCP7), into protools, as per the video link,
There must be a valid reason that line was taken.
I'm looking for any facts on the matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2021, 05:57 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,370
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundworthy View Post
...The volume automation has always transferred from FCP into Protools using OMFs...
Same with Premier Pro, i.e. volume automation transfers from Premier Pro into Protools using OMFs. So yeah, that AVID doc is incorrect or outdated.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo

Last edited by EGS; 10-05-2021 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2021, 07:15 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundworthy View Post
Avid state that "AAF is the new format and contains more information than the OMF. OMF loses the volume automation and names of the tracks when exporting and importing from one application to another. AAF retains the volume automation and the track names"
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...S/FAQ/en331113

I’ve had been using OMF for decades prior to the AAF.
The volume automation has always transferred from FCP into Protools using OMFs.

Why does all Avid/Protools affiliated sites state this when i have OMF sessions from over 10 years ago that proves to me that OMFs do transfer volume automation?
Other non avid related sites support my claim.

Here's an example i made
https://vimeo.com/619438950/bc308f8092

I'd really like to find out why this is Avid's take on it.
It is and I am using both at the moment on two series shows. It's what I get. I usually get AAF and prefer that. Sometimes some editors that are certain DAW for their work have said sometimes they have trouble exporting our of certain software editors. Most experienced editors I work with have no trouble with either. Always ask for OMF or AAF embedded so it's not looking for individual files on their HD that you do not have on yours
G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician/MPSE
http://www.gregives.com


Protools 2022.4 Flex/AKA Ultimate Native Thunderbolt Avid MTRX. DAD MOM,Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Monterey 12.4 Digital Performer 9.5.2, Logic Pro X 10.7.4 DOLBY ATMOS Facility
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2021, 08:09 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 778
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Wow didn't expect a point by point rebuttal.

On the NLE side they can use either keyframe volume or track volume automation. One or the other, sometimes both, sometimes neither would make it into the OMF. Maybe that's what the document was referring to. Or maybe it was a mistake. But again, it is from 2009 hence the question how much it matters. If it really bothers you file a support request with Avid, see if you get a response. I cannot fathom anyone still using FCP7 but if they are it was capable of exporting AAF like 15 years ago via Automatic Duck.

OMF is dead.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2021, 09:26 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 21
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

The clip keyframe and track keyframe is what I was referring to when AAFs don’t transfer uniformly across from different NLEs.
A lot film makers are not tech orientated people but make great films, aren’t interested in the upgrade path and just use what they have, because it does the job.
The only reason I put it here was because there are many other experienced users my age that would have come across this and may know why Avid states otherwise.

I’m not trying to fix anything,
10years 15 years, what does it matter if it means something to me, if it doesn’t to you then ignore this thread. I’m just trying to reach out to those in the broader community that understands that just because a version software has been superseded, doesn’t meant it’s obsolete.
It’s not the latest software that makes an operator good.
The best music producer I know uses protools 8.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2021, 09:37 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 21
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
It is and I am using both at the moment on two series shows. It's what I get. I usually get AAF and prefer that. Sometimes some editors that are certain DAW for their work have said sometimes they have trouble exporting our of certain software editors. Most experienced editors I work with have no trouble with either. Always ask for OMF or AAF embedded so it's not looking for individual files on their HD that you do not have on yours
G
Yea, all of the above, same for me, standard operating procedures.
However, have you received an OMF that failed to transfer automation, if so from what NLE did it originate?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-2021, 09:40 PM
soundworthy soundworthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ballina
Posts: 21
Default Re: OMF AAF Volume Automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Same with Premier Pro, i.e. volume automation transfers from Premier Pro into Protools using OMFs. So yeah, that AVID doc is incorrect or outdated.
Thanks, yes it does for me in both fcp & premier.
Not outdated, just wrong, as this has been happening for decades now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume vs Volume Trim Automation? snowplaysmusic Getting Started 2 06-25-2021 11:20 PM
Converting Volume Automation to Clip Gain = Higher Volume! EricWillhelm Pro Tools 10 8 11-01-2011 11:12 AM
need help with volume automation Digitalsound1 Tips & Tricks 4 07-17-2010 09:00 PM
Volume Automation Robbie Hollywood 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-24-2007 03:20 PM
Volume Automation hookiefree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-31-2003 07:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com