Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2013, 03:15 AM
blinkerss blinkerss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1
Default MBox 2 detected in XP SP3, but won't install driver

each time i plug the usb cable, my PC (win XP SP3) always recognize the MBox 2, but it wont install the driver, windows always says : "WINDOWS CAN'T FIND THE NECESSARY SOFTWARE, bla bla bla"

i try to manually installed the driver, through "INSTALL FROM A LIST OR SPECIFIC LOCATION", and my PC "seems" recognize and install the driver successfully, and the led is lit normally (the usb, input 1/2 led)

but Pro Tools 7.4 always ask to connect the MBox, and with Pro Tools 8.0, it says error -1115

tested with PT LE 7.4, PT LE8.0, Digidesign Driver v7, MBox 2 usb driver v9.0.2.65, and with 3 different USB cable, and different USB port

any help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2013, 01:28 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,852
Default Re: MBox 2 detected in XP SP3, but won't install driver

I have to wonder if this is a case of an incorrect install procedure(and why install a driver when installing PT takes care of that). I would start fresh by removing/uninstalling driver and Pro Tools(with Mbox disconnected). Then reboot and run the installer. When the installer asks for the interface to be connected, connect the USB cable, give it a few seconds(count to 8) and click Okay. Also, remember this; if any popups appear saying 'New Hardware Found", DO NOT click on them! Ignore them completely and they will go away on their own(this is an easy mistake to make if you don't have the original instructions). Fingers crossed

BTW, the USUAL best USB port to use is the one closest to the PS2 ports(keyboard/mouse on older rigs). I say "USUALLY" because there are times where that just doesn't work. But in all cases, every install attempt needs to be made from a "clean slate".
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Driver for Mbox Pro 2 and PT9...help! Kelly Vaughn Windows 1 02-19-2011 06:37 PM
Mbox 2 driver re-install randomly whenever MBox plugged in Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-25-2008 08:22 AM
Pro Tools has Detected a driver install error kreed13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-19-2007 02:53 PM
Can't install Mbox driver sminnis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-30-2007 08:56 AM
Driver install issues with LE7 and MBOX 2 PRO on Philippe Delanghe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-26-2007 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com