Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2010, 10:52 AM
LAJay LAJay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Hey guys, we've had this problem on a few of our editorial rigs in the past. But it seems like it's happening more and more often. I've searched this out in the past and all the help seems to be only for Tiger OS 10.4.11 w/PT7...BUT we're running OS 10.5.8 w/PT8.

I've got one particular editor where from day to day PT will act weird. One day he'll come in and it won't launch...it'll just bounce in the dock and other days it works just fine. We've tried reinstalling PT8 and that will sometimes makes a difference. But we can't just do that every time he has the problem. That's just too time consuming. We're on a schedule here in TV editorial. Of course we've restarted the cpu and all peripherals to no avail. I've tried to launch from the applications folder directly. No change. Today I finally shut down the entire system and unplugged the pwr cord on the CPU for a few secs. I plugged it back in booted up the entire system and wouldn't you know it..PT started up w/no problems. Now this is weird b/c he shuts his system down completely every night. (obviously he doesn't pull the pwr on the cpu every night)

Any ideas on this? So you all know, all our systems are cloned directly from our master drive w/all our programs installed. So we have over 60 PT systems ALL running the same version of PT and OSX.

Thanks for your help.

Jason
__________________
Sony Pictures Sound Editorial

MacPro 3.7GHz Quad Core w/32GB RAM and beyond
OS 10.10 Pro Tools 12.5 Native & HDX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2010, 11:08 AM
djgizmo djgizmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 79
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Hmm. How old is the pt rig ? Is it only this specific rig that is having problems?

If it is but the rig is less than a year old, sounds like u might have a memory stick going bad. Also if u have an original image of the box might recommend reimaging the box to try to eliminate a software issue as you need to start eliminating possible issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2010, 11:20 AM
LAJay LAJay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

I use the same image for all our systems. All our systems have the same programs and everything else on them. All preferences are the same too.
Now, it just might be a bad memory issue...but it's a new cpu out of the box 2 months ago.
__________________
Sony Pictures Sound Editorial

MacPro 3.7GHz Quad Core w/32GB RAM and beyond
OS 10.10 Pro Tools 12.5 Native & HDX
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2010, 01:11 PM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 773
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

did you check your disks ? (primarily the system disk - I prefer disk warior for this task), did you repair user-permissions ? (with disk utility or disk warrior), clear the pram (press 'option-cmd p+r' during startup)

I had similair problems and this helped, maybe it´s worth a try
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2010, 01:50 PM
JamesH JamesH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 27
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Just a thought, but have you tried re-seating the protools cards and checking that the snake cables are firmly secured?.......solved a weird issue I had a year or two ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:16 PM
LAJay LAJay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Yes, I forgot to say that I did repair permissions. Maybe later when he's not on the rig I'll run some diskwarrior on it.
__________________
Sony Pictures Sound Editorial

MacPro 3.7GHz Quad Core w/32GB RAM and beyond
OS 10.10 Pro Tools 12.5 Native & HDX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2010, 12:20 PM
LAJay LAJay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

So, I went through all our TV editorial systems and updated to cs2. Now I have about 2-3 systems having the same problem. Although cs2 fixed a picture playback problem...where if they went past 25 minutes in the reel and it would show the countdown as the picture to the audio. Weird stuff!
__________________
Sony Pictures Sound Editorial

MacPro 3.7GHz Quad Core w/32GB RAM and beyond
OS 10.10 Pro Tools 12.5 Native & HDX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2010, 12:22 PM
LAJay LAJay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

I also forgot to mention that if we let the bouncing icon to bounce, it'll eventually stop at about 1.5 mins...then it just sits there for about 3-4 minutes w/nothing happening...eventually it'll start to open PT but that will take another 3 or so mins. This is really weird b/c it's happening on a couple of systems. WTF?
__________________
Sony Pictures Sound Editorial

MacPro 3.7GHz Quad Core w/32GB RAM and beyond
OS 10.10 Pro Tools 12.5 Native & HDX
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2010, 09:03 AM
kindman kindman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAJay View Post
I also forgot to mention that if we let the bouncing icon to bounce, it'll eventually stop at about 1.5 mins...then it just sits there for about 3-4 minutes w/nothing happening...eventually it'll start to open PT but that will take another 3 or so mins. This is really weird b/c it's happening on a couple of systems. WTF?
I am having the EXACT same problem that you describe. Did you find any solution?

PT HD2 8.0.4
Mac OS X 10.6.4
2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro
4 GB 667 MHz DDR2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-28-2010, 09:36 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 bouncing icon. Will not launch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kindman View Post
I am having the EXACT same problem that you describe. Did you find any solution?

PT HD2 8.0.4
Mac OS X 10.6.4
2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro
4 GB 667 MHz DDR2
Read these stickies first...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=240754



http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=193634


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing LE icon - no launch - applied pre-binding kakeneeditoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-22-2009 02:40 PM
PLEASE HELP - Pro Tools HD 7.3.x icon bouncing once, no open handle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 12-01-2008 10:04 AM
Need help pro tools icon bounce but doesn't launch at all!!!!! TheKlasix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-29-2008 02:09 PM
OSX 10.4 ProTools LE 7.3 Launch Failure/Bouncing Icon on Dock JohnColtrane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-29-2008 12:22 PM
Pro Tools LE icon just bounces....no launch PhilyG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-28-2007 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com