Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2009, 04:37 PM
soundarchitect soundarchitect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 13
Exclamation Mouse error on Profile Console!

Hope anybody has an idea about the following:

Today a friend of mine had a mysterious error on the Profile console he's been touring with for three months. He couldn't use his mouse in the plug-in window anymore! To be more specific: the mouse functioned everywhere in the console, including the plug-in rack. But when he wanted to alter any specific plugin itself the mouse didn't react on any clicks or whatsoever.

All the plugins are loaded fine and could be adjusted via the console controls, but this is not how it should be. Everything else seems to be normal.

Has anybody encountered this before? Advise or help appreciated.

Regards,
Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2009, 05:06 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Mouse error on Profile Console!

Hi,

Sorry to hear about the troubles. One thing to try if this happens again is to hold the keyboard ALT key and press TAB (Alt+Tab) while the Plug-Ins screen is displayed, as this may restore the window focus to the plug-in interface and allow the mouse to control parameters again. If it happens consistently please contact customer service so we can get a copy of the show file and see if the problem can be reproduced.

Also, ensure the latest versions of all plug-ins are in use. On the Options > Plug-Ins page select each plug-in from the right hand "Installed" list and examine the Info pane to see if an alert indicating the plug-in needs to be updated is displayed. You can also export the system info file to a USB key (Options>System, click on the info button) in order to see a full list of plug-ins, including those which have updates available.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2009, 09:50 PM
C Hawk C Hawk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 18
Default Re: Mouse error on Profile Console!

Ive had that issue with one kind of logitec Trackball and to fix it i just replaced the mouse and rebooted the console.

i think the mouse confuses the mouse driver in windows coz if you enter windows you have no control of the mouse aswell
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2009, 03:21 AM
soundarchitect soundarchitect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 13
Default Re: Mouse error on Profile Console!

Thanks for the replies and help.

To keep you informed: when the Profile console was restarted the next day (!) everything worked normally. The only thing different with the day before was the power being completely disconnected from the racks.

One of the very few bugs/errors we've encountered the last few years...

Cheers,
Dennis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can you remove an empty channel from the surface of a VENUE profile console? marcnyc VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 06-25-2011 08:53 PM
Coke and Profile Console br&n VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 12-23-2010 08:07 AM
Pro Tools 8 to Profile MTC Error DasTweaker VENUE Live Sound Systems 8 11-22-2010 10:52 AM
OT: Kd/Mouse 'tray' with large frame console Eric Seaberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 11-11-2009 06:33 PM
Newbie: DAE Error seems I need to do a hardware profile Braveheart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-13-2008 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com