Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2021, 10:21 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,413
Default SSL Native Channel Strip 2/Bus Compressor 2 plugins – use the free 360° Plug-in Mixer

- even if you don’t own UC1 !!

- as mentioned @ 2:14, here:

UC1 SSL Plug-in Controller Install & Set-up
“If you’re on the road, without the hardware, then you can still take advantage of the Plug-Ins and the Plug-in Mixer”
https://youtu.be/1JHwoYeRybQ

3 cheers for SSL:
(1) For their fantastic introductory offer (unfortunately, no longer available) – and cheers also to DUC’s Pingafuego for posting - https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2593781&postcount=1

(2) For the 2 Authorizations that come with SSL Native Channel Strip 2 & Bus Compressor 2 Plug-ins


(3) For the free SSL 360° Plug-in Mixer software: https://www.solidstatelogic.com/prod...dsandDocuments




SSL UC1 plugin controller:
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415940


UC1 | Solid State Logic
https://www.solidstatelogic.com/products/uc1



https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2593859&postcount=6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
... Could you perhaps tell us if you have any experience with SSL desk emulations, Chris? I take it you have plenty experience with the real thing. Have you tried SSL's own emulation? The more I try it, the more I'm convinced that I need it.

https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2593887&postcount=7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We have most of them and Softube Console1 mk2 etc etc ... HOWEVER after hearing the bundle on sale we actually bought it! I never buy anything plugin except VI and some Oeksound Awesome Tools but we bought this bundle!

Most know we dont use many plugins but I have to say that the SSL bundle is soo good I have a hard time hearing the difference between our SSL CONSOLE and the Buscomp in the console and our SSL Buscomp in a 500 rack! I was blown away with this bundle. I would actually recommend anyone looking for a true emulation of the SSL DESK to get this bundle. It’s 90% off and worth every penny and even probably worth 500 bucks too

All IMHO but I hope people see this and get the bundle before it goes up again.

Sounds a whole lot better than UA/PIA/Slate/Waves/Softube etc so grab’em while the price is this incredibly low :)
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 07-30-2021 at 11:26 PM. Reason: Southsidemusic's: “I never buy anything plugin except VI and some Oeksound Awesome Tools but we bought this bundle!”
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2021, 03:04 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,867
Default Re: SSL Native Channel Strip 2/Bus Compressor 2 plugins – use the free 360° Plug-in M

I've had the UC1 controller for three weeks now, the plugins since february, and I'm loving it. Lets me take my eyes away from the screens, and focus more on listening. I'll keep commenting on it here:
SSL UC1 plugin controller:
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=415940

Regarding the 360˚ software, I don't see myself ever finding it useful the way it is now. If I want to mix on screen, I can't see it offering anything that I can't have in the PT mix window. On the contrary, I find it much better to see the full plugin window in PT, even though it requires an extra mouse click when going to a different track. And it only controls SSL Native instances, so I'll have to switch to PT to do any panning, sends, anything.

I see the 360˚ as a visualization of the SSL360Core which is the process that handles communication between the UC1 and all instances of SSL plugins. You don't need it to be running for things to work. But I can see that it might appeal to some. Having all the channelstrips lined up like a console.

It also feels very much like 1.0 software. I think it will perhaps evolve to something better.

But the big thing for me, and the only reason I got the UC1, is the ability it gives me, together w/Command8, to mix without looking at a screen. So 360˚ software, I don't care.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2021, 07:00 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,413
Default Re: SSL Native Channel Strip 2/Bus Compressor 2 plugins – use the free 360° Plug-in M

SSL release version 1.0.55 - (previously version 6.5)
SSL Native Channel Strip 2
https://store.solidstatelogic.com/pr...ents#documents

SSL Native Bus Compressor 2
https://store.solidstatelogic.com/pr...?tab=documents

UC1 and SSL 360° (version 1.2)
https://www.solidstatelogic.com/prod...dsandDocuments
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL Native Essentials (Channel Strip and Bus Compressor V2) Dopamine Buy & Sell 0 06-19-2021 01:23 PM
Channel Strip / Mixer Type Interface adam79 Third Party Interfaces 2 02-08-2019 07:31 PM
New Compresser Pro vs the Channel Strip Compressor PatriotsBiker AAX Plug-ins 5 02-04-2013 05:56 PM
Channel Strip in Mixer romik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-04-2011 01:55 PM
Free Metric Halo Channel Strip SP Plug In For Mix 24 Mike Stosich Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-08-2002 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com