Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:54 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,686
Default Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Hi,

Have bought a new Intel Mac (Harpertown 8 core not compatible yet and leopard only!) should i upgrade my HD3 accel to PCIe or should i buy the Magma PE64R chassis?

2 concerns!

1. reliability with a chassis
2. latency with a chassis (read on the magma site that this chassis has better latency than previous others!?)

Do chassis users still have to have the hardware buffer set twice as high?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2008, 01:45 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 695
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Mine is rock solid. You might want to have the option to run more than 3 cards at some point. My buffer is set to 128 with no problems.
__________________
Mac OS 12.6.6 Monterey (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2023.3

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) Mac OS 12.6.6 Monterey,32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2023.3, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:08 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Magma rocks. Much cheaper option, too. Mac Pro 8 Core (older 3GHz), 4 Gigs Ram, Magma PE6R4, HD4 semi-Accel, 7.3.1 and OS 10.4.9 here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:56 PM
AINSLIE's Avatar
AINSLIE AINSLIE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 762
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Working perfectly for me. No latency tradeoff that I can tell .. 4 cards and growing. Smart way to go IMHO. I waited till there was a no latency punishment option. Magma is it

Ainslie
__________________
http://www.ainsliegrosser.com/
MacBook Pro 2019 64GB OSX 10.15.7, HDX, Sonnet Chassis, PT Ultimate 2022.9, S3, Dock, MTRX Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:03 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,806
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Totally agree on the PE6R4. Nary a problem since getting up and running. See previous posting.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...v=#Post1189243
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, OWC drive dock, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.2

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:21 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,686
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

Hi,

Thanks for sharing the info. Sounds like the way to go then

Just need to get a flight to US to buy one!! UK price is scary

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2008, 09:13 AM
Vaporhead Vaporhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 576
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe


I agree. The Magma rocks. No problems here. You also get a real world opportunity to see that two regular old Process cards are definitely more powerful than one Accel card. I just keep adding Process cards to have in addition to the Accel cards that came out of the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2008, 07:13 AM
RobbyPowell RobbyPowell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

This is good news to me.. cause I'm thinking about it too..

I was just wondering..

Can you use the smaller chassi with only 4 PCI-slots (PCI4DRQ) for my HD2 rig? Or will there be some issues with latency or so?


/Robby
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2008, 01:53 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,806
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

The issue would be compatibility, not latency. If this expansion chassis is not specifically listed as supported, and it's also not listed as incompatible, then buy it and try it with absolutely no assurance of success. Currently, I believe the PE6R4 is the only supported PCI to PCIe host expansion chassis available.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, OWC drive dock, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.2

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:22 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 884
Default Re: Magma PE64R Chassis or upgrade PCI cards to PCIe

there's this thread that sheds a little more light on the topic:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...part=1#1236894
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: HD2 PCI-x in a Magma 2-slot chassis with PCIe card Justin1524 Buy & Sell 5 11-29-2013 01:09 PM
Magma Chassis host card - which PCIe slot? Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-07-2012 09:54 PM
PCI HD Accel cards, Magma pci chassis and newer PCIe Macs CD Productions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2008 08:03 AM
New Magma PCIe to PCI Chassis www.Silentservice.de Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-05-2006 11:44 PM
PCI cards in Magma chassis... Patrick P Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-02-2000 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com