Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2023, 09:43 AM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 524
Default D-command & 2023.3

Hi DUC'ers

So I'm at the end of the line with my D-command and PT updates, right?

I run PT 2022.10.0 on an M1, shouldn't install the new version as it's not supporting Icon I read.

Can someone confirm?

/Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2023, 01:56 PM
soundclaudio soundclaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Alte Bernstrasse 27
Posts: 4
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

You can Start the New Version with Rosetta and then it works with the D-Command, but for this Price it's a shame! we need support for the D-Command and also M1 Support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2023, 05:05 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,758
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundclaudio View Post
You can Start the New Version with Rosetta and then it works with the D-Command, but for this Price it's a shame! we need support for the D-Command and also M1 Support
Unfortunately end of support and end of life for the d-command has been announced for a long time now, since 2010 if I remember right. As usual things worked for a very long time after that and would have continued to do so if Apple had not made serious changes under the hood. As far as I know, windows users are not affected. So unless you're dead set on staying on apple this would be an avenue for you.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2023, 05:15 PM
soundclaudio soundclaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Alte Bernstrasse 27
Posts: 4
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

You still can Run your D-Command when you start Pro Tools 2023.3 under rosetta. But its not acceptable because they are nothing to do with Apple M1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2023, 06:31 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 369
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Have you considered the v control software to keep using your control surface?
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
http://www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2023, 03:22 AM
soundclaudio soundclaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Alte Bernstrasse 27
Posts: 4
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Yes im testing it right now, but its not the same, I also testet it with Cubase and its nice to have this fader, but the D-Command is much more then that so its really sad. Avid only has to let the Ethernet Port open for that .....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2023, 03:53 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Hi,

It's worth mentioning that a search here on the DUC would have answered this question for you.

If you want to continue using your D Command with PT 2023.3, you simply need to open the newly released version of ProTools using Rosetta. The most recent update runs very reliably and smoothly with macOS Ventura on both of my M1 Macs using Rosetta.

In my particular scenario, the update to M1 machines was so dramatically faster than my old cheese grater that I have no need to be faster than that really.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
https://linktr.ee/wilburland
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, HDX, S1/Dock
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2023, 02:22 PM
soundclaudio soundclaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Alte Bernstrasse 27
Posts: 4
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Hi,

It's worth mentioning that a search here on the DUC would have answered this question for you.

If you want to continue using your D Command with PT 2023.3, you simply need to open the newly released version of ProTools using Rosetta. The most recent update runs very reliably and smoothly with macOS Ventura on both of my M1 Macs using Rosetta.

In my particular scenario, the update to M1 machines was so dramatically faster than my old cheese grater that I have no need to be faster than that really.
I agree
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2023, 02:25 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 524
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McDude View Post
Have you considered the v control software to keep using your control surface?
Good tip!
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2023, 02:27 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 524
Default Re: D-command & 2023.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Hi,

It's worth mentioning that a search here on the DUC would have answered this question for you.

If you want to continue using your D Command with PT 2023.3, you simply need to open the newly released version of ProTools using Rosetta. The most recent update runs very reliably and smoothly with macOS Ventura on both of my M1 Macs using Rosetta.

In my particular scenario, the update to M1 machines was so dramatically faster than my old cheese grater that I have no need to be faster than that really.
Thanks for your input Will. Agree with speed. Question if for how long the Rosetta option will still work for the upgrades.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What’s due in 2023? noiseboyuk Pro Tools 57 07-06-2023 05:01 PM
Pro Tools 2023.3 is out Obsidian Dragon Pro Tools 159 04-05-2023 11:58 AM
Today's AIR FX and Instrument 2023.3 updates re-install 2023.2! off the wall Pro Tools 9 03-28-2023 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com