Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2023, 11:32 AM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Avid's Terrible Website

F*** me, trying to buy pro tools from Avid's website is too painful. First off, it doesn't like chrome, every time I select the subscription and add to cart it wants to change from USD to Euro, great, I'm in the EU, but then it reloads back into USD and the merry-go-round goes on and on.

In Safari I get past that bug but in the checkout, if you're a business with a vat number you can only use that paying with a credit card, if you switch to Paypal it insists on charging vat.

I went to Thomann and two clicks it was bought and paid for, your loss Avid!

Now, I'm on day 2 of trying to download pro tools through their stupid Avid Link app. It's taking forever and there is no resume for downloads should the connection get interrupted which happens a lot. Painful painful painful.

All that aside, the website is awful, so complicated, messy, and ugly, my Avid is full of complex terms and stuff that doesn't work. Terrible experience.
If I was a new customer I'd be put off ever trying to buy pro tools. God, I miss Digidesign.
Moan over but still trying to download pro tools.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2023, 11:41 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,903
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Do you also miss this? I still remember it. Got my first email in 1988 and this appeared to be next best thing since sliced bread...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2023, 11:47 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

I agree.
It's a mess.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2023, 11:54 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 251
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

I went to audiodeluxe. Used voucher, used delux-bucks, ended up quite cheaper than avid, and no hassle.

Clicked an avid-link just yesterday. Response: 404

Yeah it is a mess.
__________________
Free beer tomorrow !!
- but until then -
we're stuck in the present moment
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2023, 01:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,657
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

I have the impression Avid has no web team, that they must hire in contractors/a web firm as needed. That's based on reporting a simple error on Avid's web site and support telling me it will get fixed but will take a while, and it's been months. For something that small to large companies I've worked at would have stuff as simple as that fixed within a day or so of having a ticket filed. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (fond memories of the other extreme of consulting at Google Cloud and reporting missing/wrong links in Google Cloud website content and watching the web content team roll the ticket to different teams around the world to fix the issue fairly fast. Yes not everybody is Google, but still jeez.).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2023, 12:25 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,331
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Support is the single reason I NEVER suggest buying Pro Tools directly from Avid. Going to a retailer is the better option. In the US, Sweetwater, Dale Pro Audio, Alto Music, GC Pro. In Europe, Thomann...Being able to reach someone is really important(and buying direct doesn't save you a dime anyway)
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2023, 01:41 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,519
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Stuff like this is why I've always laughed myself silly whenever people claim Avid's success is only due their marketing.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2023, 03:03 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cypress Texas
Posts: 798
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Quote:
Originally Posted by starburst View Post
F*** me, trying to buy pro tools from Avid's website is too painful. First off, it doesn't like chrome, every time I select the subscription and add to cart it wants to change from USD to Euro, great, I'm in the EU, but then it reloads back into USD and the merry-go-round goes on and on.

In Safari I get past that bug but in the checkout, if you're a business with a vat number you can only use that paying with a credit card, if you switch to Paypal it insists on charging vat.

I went to Thomann and two clicks it was bought and paid for, your loss Avid!

Now, I'm on day 2 of trying to download pro tools through their stupid Avid Link app. It's taking forever and there is no resume for downloads should the connection get interrupted which happens a lot. Painful painful painful.

All that aside, the website is awful, so complicated, messy, and ugly, my Avid is full of complex terms and stuff that doesn't work. Terrible experience.
If I was a new customer I'd be put off ever trying to buy pro tools. God, I miss Digidesign.
Moan over but still trying to download pro tools.
Just a heads up-you can download directly from the Your Products page at Avid once you have registered. It's faster and easier IMO
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 64 Gig Memory:Seagate 2x 2TB, 4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 10 pro
PT 2023.3 Studio through an A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2023, 11:36 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,588
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Okay, so its not just me. I tried to use Avid Link the other night to upgrade to PT 3 2023 and it would simply not download anything. Download not available was all I got. I couldn't even update Avid Link itself!!!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-28-2023, 11:49 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 2,310
Default Re: Avid's Terrible Website

Quote:
Originally Posted by starburst View Post
F*** me, trying to buy pro tools from Avid's website is too painful. First off, it doesn't like chrome, every time I select the subscription and add to cart it wants to change from USD to Euro, great, I'm in the EU, but then it reloads back into USD and the merry-go-round goes on and on.

In Safari I get past that bug but in the checkout, if you're a business with a vat number you can only use that paying with a credit card, if you switch to Paypal it insists on charging vat.

I went to Thomann and two clicks it was bought and paid for, your loss Avid!

Now, I'm on day 2 of trying to download pro tools through their stupid Avid Link app. It's taking forever and there is no resume for downloads should the connection get interrupted which happens a lot. Painful painful painful.

All that aside, the website is awful, so complicated, messy, and ugly, my Avid is full of complex terms and stuff that doesn't work. Terrible experience.
If I was a new customer I'd be put off ever trying to buy pro tools. God, I miss Digidesign.
Moan over but still trying to download pro tools.
I never use Avid link to down load PT it self I always do the from View My Products page on my account page -just a thought
__________________
System :
Studio - Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2023.12 Mid 2020 (intel) iMac 27" Ventura 13.2 .1
Mobile - 2021 14 " MBP M1 Pro PT Ultimate 2024.3.0 --Sonoma 14.4



Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid's Terrible and Worthless Support rogercollege Licensing & Accounts 7 02-26-2021 06:21 PM
Avid website fun reichman General Discussion 0 11-12-2012 10:54 AM
Why is AVID support so terrible? lapezeus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 02-09-2011 05:56 PM
Avid distribution is terrible ! alexglvr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-15-2011 04:05 AM
AVID Website | Pros & Cons | Dedicated to the AVID Web Crew 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 07-28-2010 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com