Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2016, 03:26 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 509
Default Is the option to upgrade from CPTK to HD gone?

Hello All,

Is the option to upgrade from CPTK to HD gone? Someone is selling me a CPTK license but the only reason for me to get it is to be able to still get an HD upgrade with that.

I can't find the option in the store anymore. Can anyone give me some light on the matter? I'll really appreciate it.

Thanks!

__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Pro Tools Ultimate (subscription)
Focusrite Clarett 8preX, Focusrite Clarett Octopre, Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Monitors: Yamaha MSP7 and Yamaha HS8S
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe (in a 4U slidable rack mount! )
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
128 GB RAM Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz (8 modules 16GB each)
Boot disk: Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB
Media disks: 2nd Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for current work, 2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Video: Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2016, 03:36 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Is the option to upgrade from CPTK to HD gone?

Yep, all gone.

And hopefully you know many HD software features, per-track input monitoring, disk cache, VCAs, ... are now in the latest Pro Tools 12 standard release. Surround sound, support for HD hardware and a few automation things still require a HD license.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2016, 03:50 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 509
Default Re: Is the option to upgrade from CPTK to HD gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Yep, all gone.

And hopefully you know many HD software features, per-track input monitoring, disk cache, VCAs, ... are now in the latest Pro Tools 12 standard release. Surround sound, support for HD hardware and a few automation things still require a HD license.
Thank you so much for your answer. That actually sounds like I just saved a lot of money. My main reasons to use CPTK were:

- Maximized track count
- VCAs
- 256 busses <--- very important!

None of those were included AFAIK in PT11 vanilla. I really hope I get those in standard 12 now. I'll go ahead and read the papers.

Thanks again!
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Pro Tools Ultimate (subscription)
Focusrite Clarett 8preX, Focusrite Clarett Octopre, Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Monitors: Yamaha MSP7 and Yamaha HS8S
Asus Prime 299X Deluxe (in a 4U slidable rack mount! )
Intel Core i9-7940X 4.3 Ghz (14 cores / 28 threads)
128 GB RAM Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 3400 MHz (8 modules 16GB each)
Boot disk: Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB
Media disks: 2nd Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for current work, 2 x Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB mirrored for archive and backup
Video: Asus/Nvidia GTX 1080 TI with a single 4K monitor Dell P2715Q
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot upgrade from CPTK to 11 electrofloss Pro Tools 11 15 02-10-2014 11:04 AM
Upgrade from PT 10 to PT 10 HD? CPTK exitzero Pro Tools 10 3 07-22-2013 12:13 PM
CPTK upgrade question pasanta Pro Tools 11 3 04-18-2013 09:18 AM
Upgrade PT9/CPTK to HD native? jtishler Pro Tools 10 12 11-01-2011 04:10 PM
Dv Toolkit 2 to CPTK upgrade anatoli Pro Tools 9 9 01-21-2011 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com